email, text or call?

 

angry-mobile-phone-user-289-75

I’m not a “phone” person.  Meaning, I don’t like sitting around on the phone for hours at a time.  It’s not my favorite.  That being said, I have friends that I talk on the phone with, on a regular basis, because I want to catch up with them and hear their voices so I can accurately gauge how they are doing. I find it is important and the next best thing to getting together.

On the other hand, I know that some people are avid texters and emailers, and I do both. I enjoy the “instant” nature of texting/emailing and the fact that I can email someone at anytime if I have them on my mind and I don’t have to worry about “bothering” them.

But lately I have grown weary of emailing/texting. I am finding that it is replacing “normal” communication between people and encouraging less face to face (and phone) chatting and more “buzzing” (that fancy noise your phone makes when you get a text).  I’m finding that it is easier and so people don’t call to check in with others or find time to write a letter or pick up the tele.  Or….wait for it……go over and have iced tea and chat!  I will get an entirely different conversation if I talk with someone in person than trying to interpret their words in a email message.  I think that calling also shows a level of concern and care.  Knowing that someone is setting aside some time to chat is nice.  It means something.  

I’m just wondering how much the computer and cell phones have replaced the art of communicating and my part in it.  I’m trying to decide what I need to change/give up in order to do a better job communicating with others.  In ways that they like, validate them and make them feel “thought of”.  

Thoughts from within my head.  Ponder.

 

*Kinda/sorta related and also got me thinking.*

 

Powering OFF now.  

9 Comments

Filed under cell phones, communication, computer addicted, emailing, new york times, texting, Uncategorized, write a letter

9 responses to “email, text or call?

  1. I dont even have the texting feature on my phone. I’m so behind…

  2. I guess for friends and just chatting I prefer the phone but for “business” I find e-mailing or texting to be so much more efficient.

    But you’re right. If I were to make a “business” call to a friend I might hear something in their tone that would cause me to ask how they’re doing and I’d keep up better.

  3. I’m guilty of being an emailer. I hate the phone and I don’t care for texting. Texting is great when I’m out and can’t talk on the phone but need to get a message to someone. But when I’m home I’d much rather email everyone. Then I can give my undivided attention to responding to someone and I can respond on my own time not when I’m in the middle of something and the phone rings. Then I don’t want to be bothered by the phone so I cut the conversation short. I know, probably rude, but everyone knows that’s how I operate best! lol

  4. Heidi

    I am not a phone person either. I actually use a pay-as-you-go phone because that’s how little I use a phone! It’s a known fact in the family that if you send me a text, I will call you because by the time I put on my glasses and then figure out how to answer a text, it saves time by just calling. I would much rather hang out with people and chat.

  5. amen sister! i completely understand and share your thoughts. i do see a place for texting…but not as a replacement. its so hard to sense someone’s tone especially in texting because its even more shorthand and abbreviated than email. i also don’t have unlimited…so that friend that does and uses it…always…drives me nuts too! i do think that another area that is loosing is a good old fashioned handwritten note!

  6. You know how I feel about the phone…but face-to-face is WAY better and so much more fun. 😉

  7. I love iced tea. I especially love sweet tea. Around these parts, we’re a little slower than the rest of the country, and sweet tea and conversation is always in season.

  8. Mary L

    I like this post. Nothing replaces sitting and talking with a friend!

  9. FYI- I have never owned a cell phone and my relationships have not suffered at all. Quite the opposite I think.

Leave a comment