Tuesday Light.

Good morning ladies and gents.

1.) First and foremost….Today is my dad’s 30th birthday (heehee)! Happy Birthday Dad! I love you!!

n1216305422_54515_8598

2.) Remeber HERE when I wrote about wanting something sooo badly that I might fall over and weep for a moment about it? Well, I let go of the dream and then………straight to my doorstep…….

IMG_8082

IMG_8085

WHAT should I name him? I like that someone put “Hedwig”. That was pretty cool. Anyone else?

3.) Domestic Doris is going CRAZY in this mess. It’s my favorite time of year and even the weather is cooperating!! I want to cook, dangit!! So, until I can have access to my kitchen, here is a yummy, cheap and simple recipe for you! It’s from my cousin Janelles, boyfriend. He made it for Sunday Supper and it was DELISH!

You use JIFFY cornmix (love that it is only about .39 cents and after all these years, they have kept the same, retro box!)

Jiffy-Corn-Muffin-Mix_0A07E2D7

Here you go. Make some cornbread for me!

  • 1 Box of Jiffy Corn Muffin mix
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/3 cup of Milk
  • ½ can of whole kernel corn (completely drained)
  • ½ small can of diced jalapenos (completely drained)
  • 1/3 cup of grated sharp cheddar cheese


Fill muffin tin a little more than ½ full, back for 15-20 minutes at 400

4.) You all know I LOVE me some vintage PYREX. Birthday love brought some my way. Check out these patterns. I didn’t have any of these, and have never seen the dot pattern in person. Pretty cool, huh? Do any of you have these?

**People have emailed and already asked–these particular PYREX are NOT for sale.  They are mine :)**

IMG_8087

IMG_8088

5.) Our family reunion (my husbands, that is) was this weekend. I got to finally meet ANNIKE! It was amazing! After we were finished hugging 19 times and saying, “I can’t believe I’m actually looking at you!” we sat down and chatted. We didn’t get to talk as much as I wanted to, but already are emailing and perhaps getting a trip in the works for October? It was a JOY meeting you Annike. I’m so happy we are friends. (pictures to come at some point!)

6.) I want to remind you again of the fantastic vintage sale I am having in October. Come visit “THE ATTIC”. If you live anywhere in the So, Cal area, you DO NOT want to miss this. There are wonderful pieces being sold, fun knick-knacks and something for everyone’s house. Not to mention, food by Mod Gourmet! Chances are, if you have seen something vintage on my blog, it’s on sale (I mean, not the stuff in my house, but lots of my estate sale finds). Hundreds of items for you to take home!

If you would like the inside scoop, email me and I will give you the top secret details!

Sale_in_the_attic_REVISED

7.) Thank you for all your letters, emails and comments about Kensington. She is feeling MUCH better. She had a nasty bladder infection and was feeling ICKY. But, we are taking care of it and she is back to her normal self. This is the position I found her in last week, while watching her favorite show “The Fresh Beat Band”. Hand in the diaper. She likes to rest it right on top and just chill. Seriously? Really? We don’t watch “The Simpsons” or “Married with Children” here. Where is she getting this?

IMG_7971

Have a delightful Tuesday! I’m off to pick out some carpet!

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Tuesday Light.

  1. It sounds like life it good. 🙂 And I think that that picture of Kensington just proves that men never truly outgrow their childhood but women do!

  2. hedwig is a good name.
    I also like Horace. don’t ask why….just seems like an owl name. hooray for brothers who surprise us!!!
    hooray miss K is feeling better!! hooray for your dad’s bday!!!
    hooray its tuesday!!!

  3. We used to make that Jiffy cornbread all the time! I had no idea it still existed.

  4. I LOVE Vintage Pyrex!!! Okay i am officially REALLY bummed we don’t live closer to each other!!! I already can’t come to your awesome attic shopping thing 😦 and you love pyrex too!!! I have 3 mesting bowls the largest and smallest are orange with a beige/off white desing, and the middle one is reverse 🙂

  5. Dad

    Tahnks for the birthday call out!! It is 6 years past a half century!! Yikes. Great picture of Miss K…..she was watching college football by the way!! HAHA

  6. Janelle

    Brad will be so excited about his shoutout

  7. Amy

    Hedwig is nice … but he’s so handsome, it seems he needs a bit something more … like … Hedwig Ignatius II, keeper of relics … or something of the sort…

  8. Oh, I haven’t been around much. I’m so sorry Miss K has been sick, glad she’s on the mend.

    Love the Pyrex. Here’s a new Jiffy cornbread recipe for you. Make sloppy joes with ground turkey and put it on top of the cornbread. It makes a really nice low-class dinner 🙂

    Good luck with all the reno work!

  9. Those dotty bowls are fantastic!! So fun.
    That picture of K is so funny with her hand…and her feet are so sweet! I love those little feet (before they all of a sudden turn in to big kid feet, you know?)!

  10. oooooh-daddy has some splainin (explaining) to do!!! LOL.. I wish I was in So Cal. I would love to get my little grubbies on one of your typewriters! Hope it goes well! I’m sure it will!

  11. elma

    Oh I also wished I could come to your sale:) Those dot bowls are so cool. I have a set and I have four bowls. The largest is white with dark green dots.. I have them on top of my kitchen cabinets. Glad Miss k is feeling better. I hope your redo is going well.

  12. Hedwig (is that his name now?) is awesome!! I love it!

    I’m glad Miss K is better – love the picture, she’s adorable!

    We so need to get together SOOON!! I’m talking to P about the next time I can get out there – we didn’t stay nearly long enough!

  13. Love those bowls! My mom actually still has her set just like them. Wonder if I can talk her into giving them up? Doubt it – she still uses them!

Leave a Reply

