what’s going down in my town.

We are in the throws of construction here and I am trying to keep my wits about me.  On the one hand, I am REALLY excited about what the end result will be.  On the other hand, I’m going a little nutty with the dust, clutter, lack of uniformity and cleanliness. 

This is what our house is lookin’ like, currently:

IMG_8073

IMG_8074

And our garage has become a bit of a storage unit.  And when I say that, I mean it.  I have about a 2 by 2 foot standing area when I walk in and that is where I stand to do my laundry.  If we need anything in the middle of the garage….too bad.  It’s staying put until we start moving things back in.  And we also haven’t seen Ramona the cat in several days, so who knows where she may be?!

IMG_8076

IMG_8075

The lawns are getting a bit unruly (Sean’s largest pet peeve):

IMG_8079

Because they are dumping grounds for all the old baseboards:

IMG_8078

But, one of the positives is all the wood I get to burn.  I love  fires and have one going, as I type:

IMG_8080

I think the saddest part of the whole renovation is this face:

IMG_8081

She is big time confused about what the heck is going on.

And, yes, the hole in the background of the above picture is our missing dishwasher.  Because it’s on the back porch.  I mean, where else would it be?

***

Even in the midst of the dust and craziness, we are happy to have the chance at some home renovation. It’s going to be really fun to see the end result and enjoy our “new” house!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “what’s going down in my town.

  1. i would be freaking out just a smidge. so much confusion and stuff out of sorts would send my OCD into a tailspin!
    but i too know the outcome will be fabulous and something you will enjoy for years to come. then will look back and say…”oh remember that little renovation we did? wasn’t that fun?”….one day anyway. =)
    Can’t wait to see it!
    <3's

  2. elma

    I know I would not be able to handle a remodel:( I would lose my mind. I can’t wait to see your home when it is done!! I hope it is soon.

  3. You are going to love it! Enjoy those new wood floors and baseboards. I couldn’t live without my hardwoods. Good thing my hubby sells hardwood floors for a living…now if only business would pick up!!! Can’t wait to see your finished renovations!

  4. i feel your pain. BUT it will be GREAT when it is finished.

Leave a Reply

