ode to year 28.

blog1

Dear Year 28,

Today we end our year together.  Today I turn 29.  Before we part, I wanted to share some things with you.

I liked you.  Despite the fact that you aren’t one of the “major” years (you know, like 21 or 30), you proved to be just as important.  You taught me some big things, and left some big impressions.  I feel that you’ve been a learning year.  A growing year.  I have become more myself during your year than any other time in my life.  I enjoyed your year more than any other, thus far.  I have grown closer to my life-long friends, become accountable to others, learned what I really believe, extended my faith, served more wholeheartedly, shared who I am with those that are true, focused on what is important and began growing roots, where I think I have been planted.

So, thanks 28.

Never let 30 give you a hard time for being the most “life changing” year.  I’m pretty sure 30 has nothing on you.  At least not when it comes to me.

Thanks for everything.

Rachel

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “ode to year 28.

  1. Happy Birthday, my Cali friend….hope it’s a good day. Don’t let remodeling dust, nor things to do, nor anything else distract you from celebrating in a BIG way…..It’s your birthday, so have a party in your world!!!! 🙂

    Suzanne

  2. I hope your letter to 29 (and every one after) says, “Wow! I thought it couldn’t get better, but it did.” =) Happy birthday! ♥

  3. Happy birthday! Hope you have an amazing day (and year!)

  4. Happy birthday! And for the record, I really liked turning 30.

  5. Your Brother

    Dear 28. I fear you. Im still a year and a half away but looking at all you did with my sister, I fear I will not be able to handle such growth. So please take it easy on me because Im still a bachelor that just wants to watch baseball. Thanks.

  6. Amy

    How could your birthday not be spectacular? You’ve got a picture on your blog of a pups … in a party hat!

  7. Jan Muse

    Happy & Blessed Birthday Rachel!
    You are WISE way beyond your mere 29 years on this earth and a blessing to many!

  8. i too felt my 28th year was one of great personal growth.
    then I turned 29, and then 30….apparenty it just keeps getting better and i have no doubt that it will be similar for you!
    have a lovely 29th year my friend!!
    happy happy birthday!!
    <3's….

  9. Mary

    Happy Birthday!!! it just keeps getting better!!

  10. Happy Birthday Rachel!!! I hope that 29 will be as wonderful as 28 was! Hope you are having a wonderful day!

  11. Happy, happy birthday…on the late side. But there’s nothing wrong with celebrating for a couple of days! 🙂

  12. I’m so glad year 28 was so good – year 29 will be even better – I mean, you started it at a party with ME, so what more can you ask for?? 🙂 I hope you & Sean had fun and Miss K is feeling better – lotsa love to you guys!!!

  13. Happy Belated Birthday!

    I loved your post 🙂

    My birthday is this sunday- its my “nothing birthday” I turn 20

    I LOVE your prayer request monday thing- I read so many, not all (I need to come back later) they really touched my heart. I felt bad for being stressed about school when other people have REAL things to be stressed about. Thank you for posting it, I def. will pray, and continue to check back on mondays!!!!

  14. Julie

    May this new year shower blessings on you and yours.

Leave a Reply

