what I think about Obama’s speech?

Some of you have asked what I think about all the hullabaloo surrounding Obama’s speech to the children of America.

I will make this short and sweet (especially for those of you that don’t particularly care about my opinion on this matter).

What do I think?

I think that America has become so tangled in our own opinions, thoughts, ideals and “party lines” that we have completely forgot that it is our responsibility as citizens (and Christians) of this nation to RESPECT the position of the President.

I do have to say, specifically to all of the Republicans that felt George W. Bush was vilified, mistreated and disrespected (which he was, on more than one occasion)-let’s be careful that we don’t mirror that same behavior.  Especially for our children.

So, yeah.  My kid would have been watching the simulcast, with the rest of the class.

 

1 Peter 2:13-17 

13Submit yourselves for the Lord’s sake to every authority instituted among men: whether to the king, as the supreme authority, 14or to governors, who are sent by him to punish those who do wrong and to commend those who do right. 15For it is God’s will that by doing good you should silence the ignorant talk of foolish men. 16Live as free men, but do not use your freedom as a cover-up for evil; live as servants of God. 17Show proper respect to everyone: Love the brotherhood of believers, fear God, honor the king. “

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “what I think about Obama’s speech?

  1. I agree with you on this. I was very concerned at first about allowing the girls to view the speech without myself of my hubby there to answer any questions that they might have. It is also no secret to our children that we don’t agree with many of President Obama’s views on things. But when I heard my daughter say that she didn’t like Obama – I was convicted and quickly reminded her that we may not agree with what he says or does, but he deserves our respect and we will give it to him. They did in fact watch the speech with their classes on Tuesday (it was optional), and when they came home we discussed it. They shared what they heard and I think they came away from it with nothing but positive feelings.

    I could say more, but I’m going to leave it at that, as I don’t want to begin a debate.

    It definitely was a lesson in respect for not only my girls but for me as well!

  2. as someone who is excited about change and looking forward to the future – I couln’t agree with you more. even if I don’t agree with every single policy, thought or action of ANY president ( and really how could you?)
    I think it is our duty as Americans and Christians to respect the office.
    to wish for someone to fail is beyond my comprehension and to pass those wishes and attitudes onto innocent children blows me away.
    They didnt’ get to watch it at Sweet Pea’s school but we watched it online at home and she got encouragement to do her best out the whole thing.
    that’s good enough for me!

  3. Mary

    Well said. 🙂 Yesterday on NPR (yes, I, too, am a Republican that listens!) they mentioned that when GHWBush gave his address to children, the democrats complained that he was doing political advertising (http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=112552947). I don’t know if that is true or not, but it does seem like maybe we should all just follow the Golden Rule sometimes, because whether or not a president was “our” candidate he is still our President.

  4. I agree, I love Obama! So what if he makes a couple boo boo’s here and there, he’s human, and that’s why I like him!

  5. Very well said. Unfortunately, when you have a member of Congress heckling the President during his speech on health care, you wonder how we will ever teach our kids to respect the President of the United States when some of our own congressional leaders don’t. I refuse to raise children that don’t understand just how magnificent this country is, regardless of the political party in power.

  6. noelle

    i agree – my kids would have been watching it as well. it is up to us, as parents, to raise our kids and instill morals as well as educate them on why we believe what we believe – so when they are adults – they can make their own decisions – and go whichever way they choose. i know many people were concerned with a sales pitch on healthcare – but how is listening to a speech really going to affect our children? if anything our kids can come home and ask questions about what the president said – and we can then explain the issues he discussed. i didn’t listen to the whole speech – but from what i heard it was pretty mild – telling kids to work hard and to stay in school – etc..

    i do however have to admit – the double standards do often frustrate me – it is hard sometimes to turn the other cheek after years of comments & disrespect – but i do agree that he is our president – and although i may not agree with him on many of his policies- i can still show respect and teach my children to do so as well.

  7. Julie

    Our school (and district for that matter) opted not to show the speech in the classrooms but encouraged us to watch at home, which we did.

    I think that even though I might not agree on everything Obama thinks (we are a two party family in our house . . . it gets complicated ;)), if the President is going to take a few moments to speak to my kid and encourage him to do his best, I don’t want him to miss out!

Leave a Reply

