thank you, amy.

Let me set the scene.

I’m in Newport, shopping at Anthropologie , (I mean, where ELSE would I be on a Wednesday night around 7pm?) with my photographer.  We were in the fitting room and enjoying light banter and dreaming of the wonderful wardrobes we could have, given an unlimited budget.

I was sitting on a large, poofy ottoman and realizing that I need to paint my toes.  Badly. 

A woman with a rather cautious smile approaches me.

The following scene unfolded and has left me with a smile.  The same one that I woke up with this morning. (Slight variations could have occurred, and I take no responsibility.  It was 7pm and I still had not eaten dinner.  I become a completely mindless goon with no food after 5:30pm.  I’m an “early bird special” type of gal)

Hi….i don’t do this normally….I feel kinda weird….

“Hi!” (thinking she is going to tell me that she doesn’t want to be mean, but the pants I’m wearing really aren’t flattering)

“Hi.  Do you…..have…..a…..blog? Cherry Lane, or Tree Lane……”?

“Yes!  That’s me! Cherry Tree Lane! (almost falling off said ottoman)

“Hi!  I read your blog!  

Photographer comes out of fitting room (wearing something fabulous that she should have bought, but was smart and put back on the rack.  Kids got to eat.).

“Are you serious?!!!  Oh my gosh!  Nice to meet you!” (again, trying not to scream or fall off ottoman)

~and the scene continued.  Shaking of hands, sharing of happiness and chats about her daughter and mine.  

It was a seriously important moment in my life.  I am almost 100% sure that there are several of you that will laugh at that.  And 98% sure that some of you might even feel sorry for me.

And that’s ok.

But think about it.  Think about something you enjoy doing, something you are passionate about.  Something you love doing.  Now think about when you accomplished something related to that endeavor.  

Received your Masters Degree.  Won an award for a delicious pie you made. Walked in graduation.  Gave a great speech.  Made the perfect meal for guests. Finished a wonderful thesis.  Painted that lovely piece hanging in someone’s house.  Finally finished a 1000 piece puzzle. Closed the back cover of anything Tolstoy. 

Now, calm down. I’m not equating my meeting a stranger to all of the 4 years work that goes into a college degree.  That’s not what I mean.

But I will say that I love my blog and it is a passion of mine and I have not felt that proud or accomplished (aside from the day that my daughter finally “got it” and said “Please!”) in a long time. It was a moment when I realized that I’m reaching and connecting with others. Something that is very important to me. I talked to God the whole way home, thanking him for that happy moment. After-all, He allowed it.  I might as well of had a cap and gown on (weird in an Anthro fitting room, but visualize it with me) and Amy moved the tassle from one side to the other.  That is how good I felt.

Laugh all you want.  Make fun of me for getting giddy about this.  It’s ok.

I’m on cloud 9 and I might just wear this smile for a few more days.

So,

Thank you, Amy. 

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “thank you, amy.

  1. I’m not laughing a bit. That is a big moment! Good for you and good for Amy for being brave and providing you with a fun moment.

  2. Ginny

    What’s funny about this story is that I was wondering something similar yesterday afternoon. I check in on a variety of blogs and I asked myself if I ran into you or some of the other authors if I would approach you/them or just keep it to myself that I was at the same restaurant/store/parking lot as them.

    After reading your account, I’ll be sure to tell you/them hello. 🙂

  3. Can I have your autograph?

  4. Superstar! I do understand how awesome that must feel. I hope that someday I am able to have the same story (replace Anthropologie with any said pub).

  5. i’m LOL but not at YOU….more the situation.
    I LOVE this story!
    you’re a superstar Rach!! Face it!!!
    thats an awesome experience….lil awkward but very cool!

  6. That’s amazing! I agree, totally a God moment – what are the chances!?

  7. I would react the exact same way! Congratulations!

  8. Oh my gosh, how EXCITING!!! I would have been extra happy too!!! 🙂 And I love that you met a blog reader in the Anthropologie dressing room, how perfectly appropriate hehe!!
    xoxox Holly

  9. AmyLoo

    Oh that is super exciting! How thrilling!

  10. Amy

    Thanks so much!! I was so worried.

  11. I love it! I would totally do that and my hubby would just roll his eyes at me 🙂

  12. jenn

    like i said yesterday…i better have a cameo in the movie ;).

    SO happy for you friend!!

  13. Liz

    You’re so cute! I understand totally. This happened to me while I was walking/running. I was nasty, sweaty, and not at all pulled-together when a woman waved me down and said, “You’re Liz, right? Mabel’s House?” I’d be lying if I said it wasnt a rush. But I wish I hadnt been sweating at the time. 🙂

  14. That is so funny! How fun to actually meet someone who reads your blog! Way cool!

  15. I’m not laughing at you at all, I think that’s fantastic! That is so cool!!

  16. That is so awesome!!! Ride that cloud 9 baby!!!

    • Well, I think that is WAY cool. I would about fall off an ottoman, too, and then I would scour the clothing racks in hopes of finding all the mean girls from high school, just so they could witness my awesomeness. Perhaps that would tarnish a Godly moment, but I never claimed I was a saint. 😉

  17. SO COOL! Gotta say that the chances we run into each other are looking even better. Anthropologie, Idyllwild, Newport…I think we’ll bump into each other sooner than we think 🙂

    Isn’t it a little surreal to have someone that you don’t know stop you and tell you that they read your blog? It makes my day!

    p.s. my husband was at our favorite mexican place picking up a “to go” order for us and some random person came up and said “Hi Bret…or should I call you McVet??!”. He grabbed his food and tried to leave as the person explained to him that he read my blog…I guess my husband didn’t think it was as cool as I do 🙂

  18. Glad I was there to witness your first blog paparazzi sighting (a very nice and sheepish paparazzi, mind you).

    Can’t wait to wear the sweater…

  19. Luann

    i was thinking today and this blog of yours- i think it is your ministry.

Leave a Reply

