bouquets of newly sharpened pencils….

{name that quote}

****

September 1st is here and my friends know me well.  I have already recieved several email/texts saying “HAPPY HARVEST!”.

For my house, summer ends on August 31st.

The fall goodness begins on September 1st. Done and Done.

My child has played in the blow up pools, long enough.  She has spent the last 3 months in her bathing suit and swimmer diapers (which are just gross).  I’ve gone through 15 bottles of sunscreen and BBQ’d almost every night.

No more.

*****

It helps that I woke up to a slightly cooler temperature (don’t worry…im not jaded… it will be hot before I know it), but I am in the FALL MOOD!  I’m so very happy and have baked a Banana and Coconut bread (from my Magnolia Bakery cookbook) in celebration.

IMG_7989

Tonight we will feast on bread bowls and soup AND I might just need to make a special trip to get my favorite fall drink:

 

Pumpkin-Spice-Latte-sign-785463

Oh, and of course I love September because my birthday is only 11 days away.  Just another reason to bake MYSELF a cake (don’t think I won’t).

I am just in love with this time of year.  School starting, leaves falling.  Everything is crisper, slightly more gloomy and smells better.  Colors are richer, hearts are warmer.

Do you love the fall?  Join my club. Come on over.

****

And if you haven’t had a chance to join in on praying for others, please see THIS Vlog and the subsequent posts for requests.  Please pray for one another. Come back–let us know that you prayed.  Email, call or tell someone you lifted them up.  Praying for one another is our job.  The Lord delights in the prayers of His children.

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “bouquets of newly sharpened pencils….

  1. even though i LOVE summer. it has just been entirely too hot. and I will be happy to have some rain or overcast-y-ness.
    the fall always makes me want to bake bread, and more “home-style” meals. comfort food if you will.
    so this morning i will join you……however by noon I will probably in the pool =)

  2. Amy

    Happy first of September to you! I do so love autumn. Sigh. Each year my mum, a friend and I partake in our “Fall Extravaganza” – which takes place on the First Day of Autumn. We light candles, eat something fallish – like stuffed acorn squash – and exchange autumn-themed gifts. I can’t wait!!!

    Banana Coconut bread sounds most delic!

  3. Yay for Fall! I’m so excited for the gloomy, cool days. Soups, fresh baked bread, stews, braised dishes. Oh, I can’t wait!

  4. amber v

    I am definetly in the “I ❤ Fall" fan club…:)

  5. Kari

    You all ready know that I know the answer to your trivia….so I won’t ruin it for the rest!! I will take down my “Keepin cool in the Pool” flag today, and replace it with a Harvest banner, or one with school supplies!! I am celebrating the Autumn from September 1st till November 30….3 full months of beautiful hues of orange, red and yellow….enjoy your Pumpkin Spice Coffee today…wish I could join you!
    oxoxoxoxo

  6. You’ve Got Mail, of course!

    Now I have to go back and read your post. 🙂

  7. Fall is my favorite! It starts with the first cool front for me. Even if that means 90 degrees instead of a 100 degrees.

  8. Nicole

    LOVE the fall and You’ve Got Mail- who could ask for more- fall, New York, Children’s books-PERFECT!!!!

  9. emily e.

    I love fall, too. Sadly, however, if fall decides to come to Central TX this year, it won’t be for a long, long time…like almost winter long time. Sad, I know. Ummm…that banana and coconut bread sounds delightful!

  10. You’ve Got Mail! I’ve watched that movie about a million times, and for years wanted to open a little shop so I could be just like Meg Ryan!

  11. Kat

    1. I am already in a fall mood. I am bringing pumpkin cookies to book club…my absolute fav cookies of all time (probably b/c of nostalgia and taste)
    2. I have been awful and not told you how much I loved the treats you brought me! I had to wrestle my kids to get into myself (part humor…part reality) Serena immediately begged to put the chopsticks in her hair, and walked around bowing saying …oh gosh I am not going to try to spell it, a Japanese greeting she learned from Erin. We have eaten half the goodies (the seasame things were my favorite…I had a weird obsession with Sesame seeds), and I look forward to using the fun partiotic coilored ribbons and buttons, I am thinking of making a shirt for Chloe for the 4th of July. I’d love to make it for Serena, but she has her own style, and we don’t often agree on clothes. Chloe is still young enough to wear whatever I hand her.

  12. Oh yum that bread looks scrumptious….and I’m in your club, just tapping my fingers here in TX waiting for it to drop below 90!!!
    Hey would you mind emailing me your little mailing address….I’d love to send you a little birthday card……..pretty please?

    suzanne

  13. I love fall too! Although it’s been really cool here all summer (others complain but I secretly love it!) I completely agree – the fall colors, the crunchy leaves, hot cider…all my favorites.

  14. heartfeltinkspiration

    Fall is my season, too — and I think it’s because my birthday is in November (not quite Winter). I love cooking supper when the daylight is fading and we can snuggle in for the evening. Looking forward to lots of crock-pot cooking!

  15. The more I get to know you, the more I know why I love ya! I too L-O-V-E fall!!!!!

  16. Oh my goodness, You’ve Got Mail is one of my FAVORITE movies ever…. sooo good! 🙂 And I am with you… I am in the FALL mood now, too! School starts and it is no longer summer, no maktter what the temperature says hehe!!! I am cranking up the A/C and pretending it’s chilly outside! Happy Autumn! xoxox Holly

  17. Were we seperated at birth? You’ve Got Mail is my favorite movie – I think I need to go watch it now that you’ve mentioned it and recite every word along with it – and I just told my husband YESTERDAY that it is time for Pumpkin Spice Lattes! I am so pumped. I also LOVE fall because of football – I’m CRAZY about it! Welcome fall!!!

    P.S. I have a recipe for making pumpkin spice lattes at home in the crockpot – quite yummy!

  18. holdingontowater

    Soup is my favorite thing about fall!! I could make it and eat it all day!! Something about the large pot sitting all day on my stove releasing lovely smells!! Happy Fall!!

  19. Fall is my favorite season…hands down. I’ve always loved it…football season…Halloween…Thanksgiving…the cooler weather…rain..I love it all. I’m looking forward to it coming…SOON!

    I’ve been catching up on your blog…and I have to say, I always thought if I had a girl she’d be a tomboy, too. I wouldn’t know what to DO with all the pink and frilly stuff! Love those monster shirts!

Leave a Reply

