monday light {kinda}

Before I begin:

My dad should be getting the results of his two biopsies back today or tomorrow.  He goes in tomorrow for an additional biopsy.  He begins the process of radiation today. Please pray for positive results and limited side effects of radiation.

Sean’s grandmother (who lives in Taiwan) is very ill.  Sean’s mom will be flying out this evening, on a red-eye, to be with the family.  Please pray for healing and safe travels for her.

Thank you so much for allowing me to share these things with you.  Things that are close to the heart. And I love that I know you are praying.  And please continue to send me your prayer requests and praises.  I love praying for you too.

*********

1.) Domestic Doris was busy this weekend. Recipe folders are finished! Thanks for all the helpful programs, tips and ideas.  I found that what worked for me were 3-ringed binders and tabs (3 bucks at WalMart!).  As much as I think computer programs would be exciting and fun, I enjoy the idea of something tangible and transportable.  This is what I came up with.  2 folders.

IMG_7839

IMG_7840

You can do it too! Mine are very basic. Super easy. I held myself back from getting crazy.  All I did was take several recipes at once (this is pretty hodge-podge, but it works for me) and put them on a sheet of paper and photo copied them.  If they are on the front and back of a recipe card, I just copy that and put it on the back of the paper, so I have both sides:

IMG_7843

IMG_7845

Super simple.  Im hoping to get sheet protectors at some point, but those things are expensive!  Even at Wal-Mart!  Sheesh!

And wouldn’t you know that my favorite gal makes all of her recipes printable, so once it spits out of my printer, I can just hole punch it and add to my binder!  Viola!

IMG_7837

I hope that by seeing how simple, basic and easy one of these can be made…that you will make one too!  I already feel like cooking and baking will be easier because my brain/recipes are all in one place! 

I like that some of you have posted on your blog re: your recipe systems–it really helped me with ideas.

*Domestic Doris pats herself on back*

2.) CTL reader and my fabulous friend, Stacy emailed me last week and asked if I would like an old piece of furniture she had.  Um….yes.  I rarely say no.  And so I was delighted when she brought this treasure to church this morning:

IMG_7854

IMG_7853

It has room for all my books!

IMG_7852

The reason I post it (beside a public THANK YOU to Stacy for this free piece of WONDERFULNESS) is to ask your opinion.  I’m officially stumped.  Should I leave it as-is or re-paint it?  There is a part of me that wants to paint it a snazzy color, REALLY bad.  But there is also the vintage-loving side of me that appreciates its original color and purpose and I don’t want to mess with it.  What say you?

3.) Did I tell you that we are attending a family reunion in September?  This is the first that I have ever attended and Im pretty excited about it.  It is for Sean’s family and his cousin Heidi is organizing it (she should get a medal for how all her work).  3 days of fun and we are excited for sure.  I am particularly excited to miss my long lost , “soul sista”, Annike.  Somehow she is related to my husband (this is WHY you go to a reunion….to figure these things out) and we have been corresponding through email/blogs/postcards for quite awhile now.  I. CANT. WAIT. TO. MEET. HER! 

4.) Controlled chaos=our office/craft room.  There is so much going on in here, that I have decided to just go with that look and hope that it translates into a “happy clutter” type of look.  Like when you visited your grandmas house.  All the fond memories you had of small things in every corner. That is what Im going for.  No?  Ok.  Well, than it is just a mess.  But a re-organized mess, as I labeled and cleaned everything this weekend.  Yep.  This is CLEAN. And I truly know where everything is.  And no…I don’t throw away magazines or books.  They remain in my four walls forever.

 

IMG_7829

IMG_7827

IMG_7822

 

I got this room on my brain because I began Christmas projects this weekend.  Do  any of you want to try and cram yourself and your crafts into my room with me and we can create together?  I promise I will make you some espresso and let you use some of my buttons and ribbon.

I just realized there is nothing “light” about this post.  Oh well.  

I’m just wordy today.

 

Happy Monday!

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “monday light {kinda}

  1. Lori B

    That is a beautiful little piece…I would leave it as is and not paint it. 🙂

  2. Your family is in my prayers.
    I love the recipe binder idea, and how organized you are lately– way to go Doris 😉
    Christmas… oh gosh, I don’t even want to go back to school shopping this week!

  3. The reunion is an act of love! I could not have pulled it off without your wonderful MIL. I talked to her last night and after I got off the phone, I was telling my hubby how great she was and just got teary-eyed! So blessed!

    Annike’s dad and Sean’s dad (your FIL) are 1st cousins! Annike’s grandma and Sean’s grandma were sisters.

  4. 1. You said the magic word – coffee. (Or some derivative thereof.) I will absolutely come craft. Maybe I’ll even finish that scarf oneday. Or I’ll just come with my mac & photoshop. Hmm…maybe glue some buttons & ribbon to the mac? 🙂

    2. Leave the table as is. I think. Need to see the finish in person.

    3. Praying.

  5. noelle

    I’m up for crafting with you 🙂 I told Jake last night that he has to make me start working on the Christmas advent calendar no later than middle of September! I can’t let another Christmas go by w/out this on my wall!

  6. I’m definitely praying for your dad – and for your family, that you guys will feel peace and comfort.

    And I. CAN’T. WAIT. TO. MEET. YOU. TOO!!!! We HAVE to carve out some time while we’re there for a tour of your house and some cupcakes and a nice long talk! 🙂 (And Sean and I are 2nd cousins, because our grandmothers were sisters. Which makes you and I…soul sista’s!!)

    I love your binders; I think I’m going to have to do something similar. I have a little 3×5 card file, but I usually run out of room on the cards! Plus I want to store crafty-type instructions too.

    And the table…agh, I’m undecided. It would look great in a bright color, but I’m also a purist at heart. But then, you have a truly fabulous turquoise chandelier and orange walls that look amazing. So I know you’ll make the right decision!

  7. Hi there, I think it’s a great thing that people can share with so many about concerns and have that many more folks praying and lifting up others!!
    On another note, I have some books of my grandma that are older and wondered if you might be interested. I remember your vintage-loving post and thought I would mention one in particular. It is a Better Homes and Gardens Guide to Entertaining from 1969. I don’t have a cool place to showcase it, and I have kept a bunch of her other cookbooks and stuff. Anyway, you came to mind. I also have a Simplicity book of home decorating but it’s not as old, 1993, I think. Well, let me know if you have any inkling of interest and I can send them to you. If not, it’s totally fine. Like I said, you popped in my head when I realized the vintage connection. 🙂

  8. Definitely praying; love the recipe binders; kinda like it the way it is, but it would look great a fun color too; family reunions are tons of fun; your craft room is immaculate compared to mine right now. It is definitely time to start crafting for Christmas. (I would come join you but I’m afraid the commute would eat up our crafting time!) Did I cover it all? 🙂

  9. Happy Monday to you as well.

    I will be praying for your dad and your DH’s family.

    Your craft room looks way more organized than mine does and I need to get started on some projects too. I think you may have given me some motivation to get mine clean/organized.

    Have a blessed day!
    ~Charree

  10. loves it.
    the binders are fabulous as I knew that they would be.
    am in constant prayer for your dad and will add Sean’s Gran to the list.
    your office/space craft is what i like to call comfortable clutter. as long as you know where things are – thats all that matters!
    if its in your heart to paint the table – go for it!!!!

  11. Praying for your dad and Sean’s grandma.

    I would love to come just to watch you make beautiful crafts for Christmas and learn something 🙂 Think it’s a little far though! Just post pictures so I can feel like I am there!

    Family reunion sounds fun!

    I think you should leave the table as is – keep the original look!

  12. I agree, the table looks amazing as is. What a neat piece of furniture, that’s so cool!

  13. Amy

    I am praying for your dad; and will pray for Sean’s grandma.

    As for the table … I waffle … it seems very calm and soothing as it is. But color always add a bit of fun. It could definitely go either way. Not helpful, am I? 🙂

  14. Jennifer

    Thinking of your family with all that is going on. Whenever it feels like too much, pray without ceasing.

  15. As I take a quick break from a crazy day of work, I ventured to your blog. Once again, you are inspiring.

    a) I LOVE your new recipe book and that you completed it in one weekend. Kudos. And when I desperately need something to use as procrastination, that will be my task. I LOVE three-ring binders (what teacher doesn’t) and little tabs and sheet protectors and…

    b) Oh mi gosh: I LOVE The Pioneer Woman, too! Thanks for reminding me of how much I love her and where her website is. (How could I lose a website like that?)

    c) Prayers for Sean’s grandmother (I hope I got that right, my brain is mushy) and safe travels for his mom.

    d) Family reunion! Cool beans! 🙂 Where will it be?

  16. I don’t thinks I’ve owned as many craft supplies in my life as you have in that room right now. I’m missing that gene.

    My vote is to leave that nifty little table guy as is.

    Prayers and hugs to you Rachel.

  17. I love your binders for your recipes. I hope it helps you get creative in the kitchen. I am stealing, ahem, I mean borrowing your idea with the kitchen binder with all the important info. I just am not sure what to put in it except emergency info. I’d like to create something that my husband or anyone helping us out for any length of time could go to if need be.

    Love your new little table – I say paint it, but that’s just me.

    Hope your dad’s results come back soon and radiation goes well as well as safe travels for your mother in law.

  18. Laundry Lady

    I would leave the furniture as is – I LOVE it!

    Hope your Dad gets favorable news. Honored to lift up your prayer requests. 😉

  19. Paint it!! I mean, yes, wood is cute. BUT, it would look so much more contemporary painted. Something opposite the color spectrum of your bedroom (you’ve got that orangey bedspread, right?) So a light teal would look superb, and not to whambamthankyouma’am. Or, you know, white works too. 🙂

  20. As you know, your family is always in my prayers.

    Love your notebook. I really need to spiff mine up…it’s falling apart.

    The storage on that thing is fantastic. I’d leave it….I think. Patti’s probably right, we need to see it in person.

    I’m so jealous of your craft room!

  21. Mary L.

    Hello, lovely.
    We are praying over here as always.
    Love the table with the storage!!! I think leave it, but I, too, need to see it.
    I like how you stacked all of your books under the window in the craft room. I love the sight of piles of books!! I’m up for crafting-I pulled out my sewing machine last week and realized I missed it (if you can miss something you’ve hardly used).
    Nice job on the folders-I like the pictures. 🙂

  22. Amy

    I like the table as is but I think it would look really cute painted.

    The recipe book is great too. I was just telling my mom over the weekend her recipe basket was out of control.

    Hope both your dad and your husband’s grandmother get well soon!

  23. Kat

    While reading “The Life You’ve Always Wanted” I came across something that really hit me hard. I hope it is as encouraging to you as it has been to me.
    ” You don’t know how many people have been strengthened because you asked God to encourage them; how many people have been healed because you prayed for thier bodies; how many spiritual runaways have come home because you prayed for thier souls. None of us may ever know the true effect of our prayers this side of death. But we do know this; history belongs to the intercessors.”

    I don’t know how God will answer the thousands of prayers sent to him in regards to your dad, but I know that our precious Jesus hears every single one of those prayers. Your father is in the best hands he could ever be in; his Heavenly Father’s.

Leave a Reply

