DIY update.

I still wasn’t sold on the mirror in the kitchen from the last post.  So, I got snazzy and did chalkboard paint on it.  VOILA!  A place to write down our menu for the week!  I like it even more!

IMG_7744

 

********

We have never had a proper dining room table and chairs.  I don’t know why. We just haven’t and it doesn’t bother me, but I do like uniformity.  We have been using random chairs from all over for our dining room chairs, so when I saw these clearance FOLDING CHAIRS (yep…there plastic and I love em’), I thought….”hmmm……Im going to try it out.”

Before:

IMG_7740

After:

IMG_7738

Dirt cheap and a world of difference.  

*******

Thank you SO much for your suggestions so far.  Keep em’ coming!!!  

We removed everything from the walls last night and took out the bed.  Threw an old blanket on the bed and are starting from scratch.  This is where it stands, as of this morning:

IMG_7741

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “DIY update.

  1. okay, i LOVE the chalkboard. good choice! and i like the folding chairs too!

  2. Wow, what a world of difference that uniformity made, right? I thought it was cute before but WOW… it looks fantastic! excited to see how the room turns out!

  3. Love the chalkboard. I can’t wait to see what you do with the bedroom.

  4. I, too, love the chalkboard…you are so creative!

  5. love the chalkboard! much better than the mirror. good idea!

  6. Elma

    You are soooo talented!!! I love the chalkboard and I love your kitchen:)

  7. AmyLoo

    So creative Rachel! Love everything you’ve done! We’re in the same boat this week!

  8. wackyweaver

    okay… I’ll admit… I’m stealing the chalkboard idea. I’m usually one likes to create my own ideas.. but that was so clever and super cheap. Gotta love that

  9. My favorite animal is steak?!??! LOL…. I love that last update you did in the dining room, I can’t wait to see the bedroom!

  10. Julie

    Love the chalkboard too! Much better.

    Hmmm, as far as bedroom ideas, what about photos on the wall? Maybe get a few special prints made up and mat and frame them yourself?? I saw one of my friends use what looked like laundry line along the wall with photos clipped along to create an interesting look. Even old calendars sometimes have good pictures to use. Or maybe some sort of word art, like those vinyl thingys that stick on the wall? Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  11. good luck on your master bedroom…we are in the process of working on our bonus room (aka…the man room) and i am struggling with colors for the walls.

    i love the chalkboard. did you just paint over the mirror or did you use something else?

Leave a Reply

