Your local library.

 

I am a HUGE advocate of local libraries.  I have written about them before and will always try to bring the spotlight onto their importance and value.  You can RENT FREE BOOKS, PEOPLE!!  Its awesome. There are tons of of benefits and excellent resources you can find at your library.  Seriously.  Go now. You’ll thank yourself.

And that is exactly what I did last night.  Sean sauntered off to soccer practice, so Miss K and I made a trip to the “book house” because…..

I joined the ADULT SUMMER READING PROGRAM.

Don’t laugh. Ok. You can laugh.  I don’t care.

IMG_7719

You had to read three books, give a summary and rate the book.  Not only was my name put in a drawing for a $50.00 Trader Joes gift card, but I got a free book of my choice!

I chose:

IMG_7720

Miss K really does love it there.  She runs around, sits in the chairs and stares at the older kids reading and mimics them.  

photo

So…..GO!  Today.  Visit your library and feel good about supporting this wonderfully free, local goodness!

 

 

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Your local library.

  1. Awww… thanks for the shout out!

    Ps. I love our library.

  2. Stacy

    I have yet to meet anyone who supports this plan. I still don’t know why it’s even being entertained. They seriously have problems if they think we would ever let this pass.

    I had to deal with a doctor in Long Beach off of Spring and Palo Verde and basically was a government runned office. The office was totally disgusting with nasty furniture and cob webs everywhere. To flush the toliet I had to lift the top off and plush manually because the handle was broken. That’s disgusting in itself. But as long as I flashed some cash, the doctor did what I needed him to do.

    Shameful as that sounds, this is what it would be like to have a government runned healthcare system. I got a taste of it and it was aweful. I was shaking when I got out of there because I was horrified. I hope to never have to experience that ever again.

    Why should a dr want to better themselves or their practice if everything is treated the same?

    HECK NO OBAMA!

  3. Elle and I love the library!

    Off to read the post you linked!

  4. We are library fanatics! I’ve been 3 times in 2 days……had to go to 2 different locations on Monday!

    We have wonderful programs that I take the kiddos to all the time. Just saw “Ronald McDonald” on Monday and while I DO NOT like clowns……he read some books and did some magic tricks, so the kiddos enjoyed it. I just stayed far away from him!

    Healthcare………scares me! Really, really scares me! I’ll have to check out the post you listed!

    Denise

  5. or you can use the time to read a rented book. you know. from the library.

  6. Michelle Eastman

    this is why i do not read or think about it too much (other than voting NO).

    it literally puts me from rightetous anger into sin and i cannot go there.

    my husband wroks his butt off and we pay $800 PER MONTH for health insurance. i do not want to pay for someone else’s.

    and the fact that the people making the stupid bill do not have to live the same way – come on. same with education – they hack away at that while gues what? they all have THEIR kids in elite, private schools.

    come quickly, Lord jesus!

  7. I look forward to the days when I can make regular trips to the library (“book house” – fun name!) … for now my kids are too little and run in opposite directions and the lil’ guy doesn’t quite understand library etiquette. So maybe 2 more years (when my unborn baby is 1.5)? BUT! Adult Summer Reading Program!! That’s right up my alley! I’ll have to look into it in my area… maybe too late, but surely something on deck for the fall???

  8. i love love love our new library. we never went at the old house but now we’ve been like 3 times in the last two weeks. they have an AMAZING program for the kids and hopefully they have an adult summer reading program for me as well!
    i got two books last wednesday and am almost done w/ both of them!
    i highly recommend the library to anyone w/ kids or who is hot this summer, come cool off and see what they have to offer!
    plus i’m SUCH a book nerd it just makes me happy to be among “free” reading materials. all at my disposal.
    ahhhh…..the library!

  9. Janelle

    i went to the library yesterday!

    Picture of Dorian Gray? check.

    Introduction to digital photography? check.

    The holiday dvd? check.

    To Kill a mockingbird with Gregory Peck? check.

    total cost: FREE!!!!!

  10. jenn

    i live a block away from the library downtown and i LOVE it!!

    it is one of my FAVORITE places!!

    PS-i am confused by the health care posts…did i miss something??

  11. jenn

    and by posts, i meant comments…

  12. Mary L.

    I love that you did the summer adult reading program!! 🙂 And as a teacher I think it is so, so great that you have Miss K sitting in such a lovely place, full of books, watching people enjoy reading. She will want to be reading before you know it!

  13. I am lucky enough to live in an area that has a wonderful library system! Glad you do as well. It is like shopping without the guilt!!

  14. i have really loved the library this year. i am on my 8th book since June 1st…and i only have half of that one left. looks like i’ll be hitting the library next week for some new reads.

  15. Kerri

    I sure hear you. I *LOVE* libraries. I go constantly. I cringe when people are way too loud in there because it’s sort of my religion. My first job was in a library. Someday when I have a ‘real’ house, I want a library in it, complete w/big fat leather chair and a ladder that props up on the wall. Actually, I could use a ladder like that in every room, I’m so short. I am so glad to see library love on the illiterateinternet!

  16. I’m fortunate enough that my son and I have a few options when it comes to local libraries. And ours are really kid friendly so it’s great when I just want to spend some quality time laughing with my little guy (on the cheap!) Thanks for the post!

  17. I love the public library, too. It’s helping me break my addiction to shopping on Amazon! And I would totally join our adult reading program if we had one. I’m craving the kind of classic literature that I haven’t read in more than a decade.

Leave a Reply

