Day Two-Greece

*I have had a few people ask about the Monopoly tourney. I did, in fact, win the second game. Score stands at 1-1.

Another “snapshot” of our day. Wish I could show you everything (like the toga’s and “olympic games”), but I forget the camera at times…

Today we “traveled” to Greece. I used blue and white to decorate our dining room table with and also borrowed an authentic Greek shawl from my friend, Mary. And, of course, who DOESN’T read Aristotle over breakfast? He was Greek, afterall…and you just haven’t LIVED until you read The Politics. (heavy sarcasm).

IMG_7524

Feasted on a “greek” omelette for breakfast and greek treats all day. (Don’t know how greek the hash browns were, but hey…I was hungry…)

IMG_7529

I just had to throw in a picture of the plate they brought Miss K for breakfast when they found out we were on vacation. Too cute! Nothing Greek about it, but adorable.

IMG_7527

IMG_7522

We even bought a rack of lamb to BBQ for lunch, but were so full from breakfast and snacks that we couldn’t eat it. Looks like we will be enjoying it next week!

Miss K also got treats this week for her vacation! I found this great puzzle at TARGET in the dollar bin (it doesn’t cost much to keep kids entertained and happy!) and it kept Miss K and Sean busy for quite awhile this afternoon. She loved pointing out the trees, boats and fishes.

IMG_7526

IMG_7539

As for entertainment, I have had quite a few emails asking if we watched MAMMA MIA or My Big Fat Greek Wedding. Those two movies were veto’ed by my husband rather early on. He rarely says “no!” to something, so when he does….I listen! I then tried to get “Zorba the Greek”(one of my readers recommendations) from Netflix, but it wasn’t available. So…I was left up to my own devices……and THIS is what we are left with.

IMG_7525

Why you ask?? A portion of it was shot in Athens…so….this was as good as it got. Lame, I know.

 

My husband looking very Greek in his blue shirt and aviators on our way to dinner (no real reason for this picture except I think my main squeeze is a cutie. Shameless, i know).

IMG_7540

We headed to GEORGES, on 2nd, for dinner with friends…

georges

And of course they show up in blue to match the day….because they’re just cool like that.

IMG_7555

 

We talked, laughed and plotted how to change the world. A wonderful evening to top off a great day.

HOPA!

Tomorrow-Brazil!

(and yes….each comment counts, so knock yourself out!)

33 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

33 responses to “Day Two-Greece

  1. Julie

    Love the puzzle and blue dishes! Sounds like a great day!

  2. These memories will be so fun for Miss K. She will love all of the pictures and memories when she is all grown up. So much fun!

  3. Ooh, I want that puzzle! How cute!

    Did you break any dishes when you shouted Hopa?! 🙂

  4. you are having so many wonderful adventures! what a great idea. love it!

  5. dad

    Yes he is a keeper…..laughed to see him on his “electronic leash”. I wonder if he was checking the score on the Greek national soccer team!!??

  6. To Sean…booooo!!!! My office mate is Greek and she says ‘My Big Fat Greek Wedding’ is a true slice of Greek life and families (she was born in Greece, went to Greek school in the U.S. and is fluent in Greek). She and I are always quoting lines from that movie! Yea to Rachel for trying!

  7. Michelle Eastman

    You know what I love about this? You are allowing yourself to have fun and be creative without the stress of perfection. As much effort as you are giving this, you are still truly on vacation – relaxing and enjoying!! THAT is how it should be!

    Sometimes we need to make a purposeful effort to stay home so we can actually ENJOY our home.

    Happy travels to you, my friend!

  8. Fun! Although if I ate out as often as you I’d weigh 200 pounds! 🙂

  9. Erica

    Wow, you really put all your efforts into sticking to the theme! So creative! I love it!

  10. We had such a great time sharing your vacation with you. I love that on our way home from Greece we made our stops in the Netherlands and Boston. 😉 Have fun in Rio rocking your super hot bathing suit!

  11. gina

    I was soo curious what you were going to do…you amaze me. Looks like you’re working pretty hard on your vacation…but sooo worth it. It’s probably just wonderful having Sean home all day. 😉

  12. What a fabulous vacation you are on. I couldn’t even think of trying to come up with something like that. Sounds like day 2 was great! Looking forward to hearing about Brazil!

  13. Nicole

    The church has a bunch of columns you should have borrowed and placed around your yard and house:) Looks like a blast. Hope it is relaxing and I think it is fabulous that you brag about your husband! (every wife should)

  14. You know, it’s all Greek to me.

  15. Kat

    One of the things I LOVE about toddlers is how happy they get to see something they recognize and like. When we drive, you’d think a movie star walked by anytime Chloe sees balloons. Kensington is SO adorable!!!

  16. dangit if I had been thinking clearly you could’ve borrowed my copy of Disney’s Hercules!
    that was set in Greece! its super cute and i bet sean would’ve happily watched that(lol)! maybe we’ll watch it today in honor of you all! 🙂

    question though: for brazil – will u be rockin the string bikini ( w/ a brazilian (and i don’t mean brazilian as in a person) while wearing havianas? 🙂
    enjoy!

  17. Amy

    What great ideas for staycations.

    Thank you for your lovely comment and visiting my blog.

    P.S. I can’t wait to see the Sart book too! 🙂

  18. Janelle

    lets start with this: When do i get to come over and have that omelette?

    and why is your daughter getting so big? with her long hair she looks like such a little girl now, not a beebs!!! gah! i want to squeeze her!

  19. Oh, good I thought you were gonna say you went to a Mcfast food place for Greece…….ahem.
    Ooooh, and Brazil……….coffee’s always a great way to start the day!! 🙂

    Suzanne

  20. This is pretty amazing Rachel. Can you do a German day? I’ve always wanted to know about my heritage.

    And thanks for the shout-out on your featured section. Very kind of you.

  21. Andrea

    Rachel,
    I love you staycation. Looks like you are having a great time. What a neat way to enjoy your family without leaving the area. I love it.

  22. holdingontowater

    Tried to write yesterday’s post in Chinese but guess wordpress can’t do that. Hope you’re having fun, must be nice to visit everywhere without the jet lag… Let’s see if Greek works!

    Ελπίζω ότι η Ελλάδα ήταν καταπληκτικά ο

  23. What fun! I’m interested to see what you do for Brazil–lots of jungle plants? How about adopting a goldfish you name piranha? Fun stuff!

  24. I applaud Bourne Identity as a brave and culturally sensitive and significant film choice – a cuite who hardly every says NO!?! How can you argue with that!?!

  25. So fun! Greece sounded like there wasn’t too much drama and no random gloves floating in fish tanks, yay for that! Next time you come over we will watch Zorba the Greek together 😉

  26. lauren

    So jealous you got to eat greek with john and shanna! love love love ’em!

    Another fun day…can’t wait for Brazil! It’s so fun traveling through you! 🙂

  27. Mary

    Yassou file mou Rachel! (I learned Greek for you!) Looks like a fun day. 🙂

  28. jenn

    i adore the pic of Miss K & Sean…so sweet! your creativity never ceases to amaze me!!

  29. YUM-O lookin’ omelet!!

    Can’t wait to see where else you’re heading off to 🙂
    Denise

  30. I love the puzzle! And the blue clothes were a great touch!

  31. Erica

    I think we all need a mickey mouse pancake sometimes 🙂

  32. BUT! You’ve seen My Big Fat Greek Wedding before, right??!! I mean, you gotta see it. It’s charming!

Leave a Reply

