life is good.

Ah….yes it is.

I woke up different this morning.  I’m sure that sounds “dramatic”, but it’s the truth.  I feel a freedom I didn’t feel yesterday and I am happy about it.  Although I was horrified by that accident, I feel a heap of perspective was shared with me.  I am changed.  And I hope it sticks around. 

There are so many things I have thought about in the last 24 hours.  Oscillating from extreme fear to severe happiness and feelings of deep contentment.  

I am grateful for the gut check.  I’m seeing life through a clear lens. 

We try to control everything. We worry about too much.  We spend wildy and enjoy little.  We speak about others out of place.  We judge too frequently. We dialogue with God too infrequently, We covet, We argue and complain, complain, complain.

And in that moment…..it became clear to me, my inadequacies.  The things I do all the time that are not fruitful or purposeful. Those things that mean little, but take up the lion’s share of my time and energy. The things I prioritize over the Lord.  I saw my darkness and my slothfulness.  My apathy.  My tolerance for all things worldly and secular.  

Last nights incident was a horrible and wonderful gift.

A gift that has allowed me freedom from the lukewarm life I was living.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “life is good.

  1. Wow – this was a wake-up call for me.

    “The things I do all the time that are not fruitful or purposeful” – yikes.

    “The things I prioritize over the Lord” – too many.

    “my slothfulness” – not pretty.

    Thank you for this post – may both of our lives go from lukewarm to on fire quickly with the Lord’s help!

  2. Michelle Eastman

    tolerance for the things of the world = tolerance for SIN.

    it is satan’s way of desensitizing Christians until they can justify their own sin and are therefore separated from the living God.

    we must know Scripture so we know Who we are serving, what He requires of us and waht is worth fighting for.

    “When you stand for nothing, you fall for anything.”

  3. danice

    Amen Riz…well said (yes I said Riz…just a little blast from the past I thought was time to relive!) 🙂

    I’m so there too…

Leave a Reply

