private, public or homeschool.

Yep.

I brought it up.

I’m going there.

I blogged it. WOOT WOOT!

It seems to be all the chatter amongst the mumzies these days. (I’m sure it always has been, but remember, I’m new to this very exclusive “MOM CLUB”).  It amuses me to no end how very judgmental moms are, of one another, on this subject (surprise, surprise).  Sometimes I will be at a gathering and just say something like, “Hey!  So…..where are all of you sending your kids to school?” (just for giggles) and watch the verbal sparks fly.  Super fun times.

And I fully expect for my email inbox to explode into a million pieces, just because I wrote those three words, but Its all good.  Because I don’t have to make a choice right now. At least not for the next 3 years.

Or I should have started caring about a year ago, when i was informed by a mom that I needed to put my child on a waiting list to get them into a premiere school (what a joke), so that she will become brilliant. Um…no.

But either way, I just like hearing other peoples opinions and experiences. And it IS on my mind somewhat, because I know that we will, inevitably, be making this choice.

So….rather than bashing what you won’t be doing (not that you would, because you are all a pleasant bunch), please let me know why you have chose one of the above and what you see the benefits to be.

***And if you don’t have kids yet, leave your thoughts based on your personal experiences in school***

Looking forward to the onslaught! 

41 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

41 responses to “private, public or homeschool.

  1. Your Brother

    Oh sis…. my little ish starter…..

    I think you know how I come out on Los Altos. Great environment and great experiences throughout elementary school. I was always getting good grades no matter the subject. Till 5th grade. I didnt like my teacher. From there on I went to a private Jr. High and then went from Private to public and back to private year in and year out through high school.

    No, I dont have kids. And I dont think that the majority of people who will post here have had kids make it all the way through higher education yet.

    I believe in Parental intervention to an extent ( I really only did well when Dad or Mom took things away from me or when I liked the subject) But more so I DO believe it comes from the drive of the student. And the importance not in WHO teaches it but if the student is diligent in learning those things.

    I do very well for myself and gave the proverbial middle finger to school, never went to college etc. But everyone is different.

    When it comes to Kensington, I have faith that you will know EXACTLY what to do with her and what she will respond to.

    And she will succeed.

    Because she has a great Mother and a great Father, not because its private public or otherwise……

    (that and she has a great uncle)

    • Your Brother

      This made me think of an email that I wrote a while back…. at the time I said the following… (Not that Im quoting myself or anything) 🙂

      “Its not what is taught and by whom, rather, it is what has been learned and how it was used.”

  2. Elma

    We send our children to a private school. We felt that it was better than the public and as long as we can afford it we will do it. The private school our kids go to have wonderful teachers and the Bible teaching is so important to.The school is small(which we like) and all the learning our kids learn is just amazing.Sometimes I think my kids know more about the Bible than I do.This comming year we will have six in a private school .So we just take it one year at a time and if money is tight we are o.k. with that to we just learn to live withour some things:) But each family has the right to whatever is important and works for them. My folks could not afford it so we went to a Christian school to grade nine and then to a public for high school.

  3. Rachel K.

    Hey Rachel,
    This is one of my favorite subjects since Layla starts preschool this fall…. so sad my baby isn’t a baby anymore.
    So thanks to a conversation with my OBGYN (wrote about it on my blog) Brian and I are trying public school… Not for the great teaching but to do our part as a members of my community. Just think that nothing will change in our school system if parents from the community aren’t involved. Not that I think I can change the world but I want to be there to do my part. I’m a product of public school with very involved parents and I would like to think I’m not too dumb. That’s our plan for now but who knows it might change.
    🙂 Overall I think kids do great in any school as long as mom and dad are involved!!

  4. Stephanie

    I have one in private and one in public. Start with public and see how it goes. Once you get a feel for your child’s needs you will know where to go from there. Everyone will have an opinion. You need to do what is right for you and your family.

    • Nicole

      I heard a quote from a parent that I am now embracing- “One day at a time, one kid at a time.” Talking about looking at each day and each kid individually and basing decisions on the now.

  5. Kat

    My Serena angel is in public school, and I am very happy about it. I don’t say that because I think private school or homeschool are bad things, quite the contrary. But for my Serena she is doing well in Public school. I always dreamed of being the homeschool mom, and having her doing algebra by the time she was 5. HOWEVER, I quickly realized while trying to teach her to write her name that she being a perfectionist FREAKS out when she makes “oopses”. She would try to write her name, and get stuck on how unperfect her S was and have to get a whole new sheet of paper to keep going, erasing or going on to the next line was not good enough, she couldn’t even look at her mistakes. After months of this I was conviced I failed as a mother, I mean if she can’t write her name at the age of 4, what kind of tragedy have I set her up for?? Then, after I got over the self created drama I realized she needed a professional who she was not so intertwined with to teach her new skills, like writing and reading, and math. That way when she came home, I could reinforce them, and we would both be less stressed. It has worked out beautifully, and my girl who went into kindergarten barely writing her name is doing marvelously as an almost second grader.
    I now, having her in my Sunday School class realize just how much of a mistake homeschooling her would have been. She feeds off my power as the teacher and tries to borrow some of it for herself. Every week we have the same discussion on how I need to be fair to all the kids in my class and not favor her. And at least 2 times a month she cries in class as I pick someone else to read first, or help out, EVEN if she has already had a chance to. She needs that time to just be herself in the classroom without my constant authoritative presence.
    And as far as private school goes, we couldn’t afford it if we wanted it, so public it is.

  6. Yikes.. what a subject. Well, I am happy to say, I am doing a little bit of both. Stumbling through it all i’m sure! My oldest, has always been in school. Starting with a pvt pre-school for two years, then regular school. My middle went to pvt pre-school last year, and this year is going to be home schooled by yours truly. I helped in both of their classes, and I know what it’s about and I can do a great job, and my children will have fun doing it. But, that’s just pre-school. There is no way I would home school them when they’re older. More power to those who can. I think it’s great. It’s just not my thing. Little kid stuff, LOVE IT! Big kid stuff.. not so much. I don’t even remember how to work with fractions. It does scare me a little the things that go on in school now. But, if you teach your kids right, hopefully, some of what you’ve taught them will stay in their heads, and they will make the right decisions. People that complain about what others are doing have issues with themselves. To each his own.

  7. Nicole

    That is so funny because it has been on Josh and my mind lately. The funny thing is that we thought we had a bunch of time, but realized that this decision could affect how many children we have. If we opt for private- 2 kids might be best. I am so struggling right now on how to keep my children pure. The world is so the opposite and I was reminded of that as I spent the week with high school students. Take some time- talk to the teens and see what are children are headed for. Not just the non-christians that our children will encounter, but the churched children that have settled for luke-warm and embraced the views and opinions of the world. What to do????? I soooooo don’t know, but would love to hear parents who have been there, done it, and their children maintained purity and a love for Christ.

    • Jon

      I didn’t read all the comments but Nicole’s did spark a response. I have a 17yr old son who has gone through both public and home school stints. (Public k to 6th, home school 7th and 8th, back to a public high school 9th to present) I think there were a lot more options for us as we only have one so there’s not a lot of juggling various needs. But I have two thoughts. First, Nicole’s earlier reply of One day at a time one kid at a time is great. God treats us as individuals and we should do the same. Its not easy to do or maintain, but can be done. My second thought is a little more challenging. The idea of “maintaining purity”. WOW! I remember back in the day when Zach was young wanting to maintain purity. I needed to do everything I could to keep all the good stuff around Zach and filter out the things that are inappropriate or worldly in their view. But alas.. I couldn’t. And I don’t think anyone can (sorry Nicole). I found that it was way more important for me to model for Zach how to react to these things than protecting him from them. If I constantly try to shield or hide him then when I’m not around, how will he know how to react to this stuff? My feeling is I want him to share and communicate with me about anything he needs to talk about. Obviously there are age appropriate issues. We didn’t sit down at six to discuss drugs and alcohol. But I can tell you that he watches how I respond to EVERYTHING and not just the physical response but emotionally too. This reply is getting way to looooong so suffice to say that I think it is way more important to teach our kids the skill of how to respond to worldly trials and tests then trying to keep them pure.

      By the way, I agree with your Bro more hits here because of FB I know that’s what got me here.

      Wallethead

      • Nicole

        Thanks Jon- I love hearing how to do it from parents in the trenches. Totally like the teaching on how to deal with it- can’t protect them from everything and just have to prepare them! Maybe it is the preparation part I need to focus on!

  8. I went to public school all but one year (half of 7th and half of 8th grade). I needed that time away from school and luckily I had a mom who was home and allowed me to stay home. I was already ahead in school and was able to study and teach myself for the short amount of time I did it – and stayed ahead!

    As for my kids, I would love to be the type of mom who does homeschool – but I’m not. I can’t wait to have that time to myself again! Don’t get me wrong, I love spending time with my kids… But when my husband is home from work for more than a couple days in a row, he makes me crazy! It’s kind of the same with kids. My older one did preschool for a couple of hours a week this last year and I got so much done! And I got to spend one on one time with my younger one. I really respect moms who homeschool though! And I hope if one of my kids does need it, then I’ll be able to accommodate.

    My plan is to let them go to public school, and monitor what they learn so I can keep up with them and be able to reinforce it at home. If we can afford private school one day – and find one I think is appropriate for our family – I’d love to be able to do that.

    Pretty much, I like what has been said, “One day at a time, one kid at a time.”

  9. mandy

    i whole heartedly believe* in public education. First of all because I have hope in public education and believe that it can only be a great thing with great teachers and involved parents. If I wasn’t ‘trained’ to be an educator, maybe I would feel differently. What my kids miss, I know I can teach them at home. But I feel so strongly that public education needs involved parents. Parents that care about their child’s education.
    From a spiritual perspective, I really feel that public education is an amazing ‘segue way’ into independent life. It was during my years in public education that I learned to make a stand for Christ and to share His amazing story and gift. I pray that my children will get the same opportunity. That public education will put them in situations where they learn to make a stand for their faith and their God. I recommend the book “Grace Based Parenting”. The author touches on this quite a bit- and maybe goes to some extremes. But has a lot of good points.
    Anyways- those are my fragmented thoughts on the subject! God will show you what is perfect for your family and give the peace that goes along with that.

  10. Good topic Rachel! My kids go to a Charter School, which is technically a public school, but our school gets no money from the government for facilities, we have to raise that ourselves. Classes are a bit smaller and grade levels are a lot smaller than a traditional public school. Parents are required to volunteer 60 hours of time to the school as part of our Partnership agreement. It’s been a great experience for both of my girls up to this point. We knew that with 3 kids there was no way we could afford private school (some of the private schools in our area cost almost as much as college tuition), and the public school that our kids would attend if they weren’t at the charter school is a great school, but for our kids and for what we want for them, the charter school works for us. I do agree with your “one day at a time, one kid at a time”…all 3 of mine are so different, but that’s what I really like about the charter school, because it’s smaller than the traditional public school, my kids are able to embrace their differences and have done very well. I can’t wait for another great school year (which starts 3 weeks from today!)

  11. noelle

    this is definitely a great topic! although private school does tend to be very pricey – I would recommend private school for elementary – then on to public for middle school / high school. I think private school gives a good foundation and structure for your kids that will follow them throughout their years in school. I loved the elementary school I went to – and both of my kids went there for a year or so. Costs do add up quickly – so we opted out and decided to send our kids to a public school.

    On a good note – we were pleasantly surprised with how much we liked our school in our neighborhood. We have great parent involvement and the school hosts fun activities for the whole family. Another good point – is for the first time, my kids were able to make a lot of good friends right in our neighborhood. From my experience of growing up in private schools – my friends were always scattered all over the area – no one within walking distance. The kids have had so much fun getting to know the neighborhood kids.

    On the flip side – I am preparing to have the discussions with my kids – that not everything that is taught in public schoools is what we believe – where as if we sent our kids to private school – we wouldn’t have to worry about it. It also depends on how the school is rated in your area – we were lucky to have a highly rated school within walking distance.

    Basically in the end – it all comes down to your kid. We have LOVED all of my daughter’s teachers at the public school – but Blake’s teachers we haven’t always been thrilled with. Of course – what this means is our daughter’s teachers have always said “She’s a model student, a joy to have in class” etc. Our son’s teachers however haven’t had such beeming reports – so of course we have had to deal with them a little more than our daughter’s teachers.

    As far as middle schools and high schools – public and private both have the drugs, sex and other issues – private is just on a smaller scale. I personally feel like I missed out on many fun electives and activities by not going to public school – since our school didn’t offer much of a selection. Many decisions to make – but time to do it!

    Start praying & saving now 🙂

  12. OK – so here is what I think. I’m an elementary school teacher – at least I was until I had kids. I’ve taught a couple years at a private school, and a couple of years at a public school. While you do get an outstanding education at private, plus you don’t have to deal with a lot of the “stuff” that public education has, we’ve chosen to put our kids in public schools. The main reason – I feel the public schools need parents and families like ours. They need more parental support. I’m confident in my own teaching skills to supplement my children’s education. I’m in the classroom weekly and am involved in things that count – not just PTA.

  13. I will be starting my 9th *gasp* year of home schooling. My two oldest boys did attend the private school at our church for the first several years. I liked the school, but we couldn’t afford the tuition for several more children. We decided to home school instead. I know a lot of people love public school, but I did not have a great experience and wanted to avoid that for my children. Over the years, my reasons for loving home schooling have changed. I enjoy having my children with me, and there is nothing better than being the one to actually teach them how to read! Also, my 5th child Savannah was a slow reader, she didn’t learn to read until she was 8. In a school environment she would have been labeled and probably held back when her brain just wasn’t ready yet. Now she is almost 10 and reads very well. It is really nice to be able to work with your child on their level, with nobody making fun of them for being *dumb*. As a side note, she is advanced in Math, always has been lol My children are all very involved with social activities and have friends who are home schooled and friends who attend private school. People always say how normal they are and don’t seem like home schooled children at all LOL Not quite sure what that means. Anyway, for my family, home schooling has been a great thing and I don’t regret it one bit. If you have any questions, I would be happy to answer them : )

    Just a side note to say that I never argue this issue with anyone. It is not my business what other people do with their children. I really hate when a parent thinks everyone has to do something exactly like they do. I have enough to worry about with myself and my own family than to go around worrying about everyone else LOL

  14. Kudos for opening this subject! It has been fun to read everyone’s insight, even though I don’t know most of you!
    For our family, we have migrated our way from private, to public, and are now starting our 3rd year of homeschooling!
    For us, it was an issue forced upon us to research. Our son is on the autistic spectrum and I knew that at his age and his abilities he would’ve had a difficult time handling the classroom. Thankfully, the Lord had a lot of people in our life try homeschooling before us and we learned a LOT from their experiences. And, we continue learning each day. When I read several amazing books on the subject, I realized I did not only want this for my son, but for our daughter who is older also! It has been such an amazing time for our family and we have grown so close in the process.
    I have grown to love the time with the kids and absolutely cherish each small thing that happens with them. I have not always felt this way, it has been an act of God! So, when you think that you could never do that, have hope! I still feel that way, but like 2 Cor. 12 says, when we are weak, we are strong!

  15. Ugh. We’ve been thinking about all of this too. Plus when to send her (August birthday.) So far we are just going slow and trying not to freak out about it all. Sydney is starting a private preschool for 2 mornings a week this fall, but I plan to do a lot of stuff at home as well. In my opinion no school is every going to be perfect so I think a little “home schooling” will go along with whatever we choose. (Either in the spiritual/religion area or other areas we might be worried are lacking.) Good luck with your choice! I thought just picking a preschool was hard enough!

  16. From what I’ve heard, your choices in CA are a lot harder. It seems like your public school system there is a bit . . . overloaded? Stressed? Wacky?

    We actually moved to a different state in large part because of this subject. Where we lived in Denver the public school choices were not great (overcrowded and liberally biased) but we couldn’t afford private. So we moved here where we had ours in private school for the first few years.

    Eventually we found that while we loved the biblical learning, the small private school couldn’t meet the educational needs of our kids. So we switched to public and have been more than pleased with that. Of course, we have small class sizes here and haven’t had to struggle much with what our curriculum feeds our kids.

    And while I love that our society offers homeschooling as an option and I’ve seen it done SO well – it is not for me. I’d never say never but it would be a last resort.

  17. This was a huge issue for me a few months back when I found out our local public school was an all day kindergarten. For Andrew, wh had never been in preschool but had always stayed home with me, I felt like that was going to be WAY too much. So of course, I freaked out looking for alternatives, trying to get him transfered to a different school in the district, yadda yadda. Finally, I decided to register him at the public school and go to the orientations and then judge. Boy am I glad i did!!! I absolutely LOVE the school, the teachers seem very sweet, involved and attentive, and the class sizes are still small for public school. It IS all day (from 8am to 2:30) but the first two weeks are half days to get the kids used to it, which I completely love.

    I really think there will be pros and cons for each school option, but you have to make the personal decision for your child. I grew up going to public school and LOVED it, so I am keeping my fingers crossed that Andrew does well with it too!! 🙂 xo!

  18. You know how I feel about this subject as we have discussed it regularly. My kids will go to private school. More and more of my friends are homeschooling so my opinion on homeschooling has improved greatly but I’m just not feeling led or convicted to do it. (Nor do I think Kate and I would be very successful.) I do, however, feel convicted to do what I can to create environments for my children that are Christ-centered that will support, not replace, the teaching and training we will give at home. I’m not naive enough to think that just b/c my kids go to Christian school they are in a little bubble where nothing secular or sinful will touch them but I like that, for the most part, the teachers, staff, parents, and kids they come in contact with have the same or similar set of beliefs we have. I like that certain behaviors, words, and actions will not be tolerated and that “civil rights” and/or political correctness will not have an influence. Being the result of private school (Preschool-12th), I realize and have seen first hand how important it is for parents to be involved regardless of where their kids go to school. Private school is not the cure all and will not prevent problems but it’s comforting to me to know our kids will know what we believe and why and that will be reinforced everyday even while they are away from us.

  19. You are a brave girl! 🙂
    my opinion is this…….

    parent’s must be involved…. parent’s must be informed… parent’s must know their children INDIVIDUALLY…. parent’s must be GOD LEAD!

    Great kids come from all ways of schooling, parents are the key!

    make your decision from there.

  20. Michelle Eastman

    We are entering our 5th year of homeschooling at The Eastman Academy and I fall in love with it more each year.

    I have 5 boys and the Lord has clearly called us to this task. (and when I say called I mean He had to hit “redial” a few times before I surrendered.)

    I believe there are HUGE benefits to homeschooling and the data is out there – the successes, the community involvement, the grades, the test scores – data – cold hard facts, support what homeschooling is doing. (much to the chagrin of many who say it is a joke!)

    But it requires SACRIFICE. Hard work. Consistency. Sacrifice. Patience. Self control. Discipline. Sacrifice.

    I hear all the time, “I don’t know how you do it! I could never homeschool!” My response? “Neither can I!” It is by the grace of God and through His wisdom and creativity and strength that I am able to be obedient to His call on our family and educate our children at home.

    Our schooling takes about 3-4 hours per day and we spend the other 10 hours on TRAINING and correction and discipline.

    Though we expect excellence in all things (chores, studies, manners etc) ~ at the end of the day the character of my children matters more than their ability to recite the Gettysburg address.

    We are not raising our boys to attend Ivy League schools or become CEO’s or olympic athletes – we are raising them for ETERNITY.

    Which means I am responsible to fill each day of their lives with the things of the Lord … to saturate their minds with Scripture, His goodness, how BIG He is, what He desires of His children. It is my job to equip them with the truth so they are able to enter the world as strong, thinking adults with a Biblical worldview so they can change the world for Jesus Christ.

    When we stand before the Lord and are called into accout for the care of the children He gave to us, we stand alone. We cannot blame ungodly influences, bad teachers, a godless government, or foolish peers. It is all on us.

    We are 100% accountable for everything our children see, hear, touch, do and say.

    The Eastman’s do not live in a bubble – we serve our church, we serve our community, our children are engaged in a myriad of activities outside of our home … we cannot hide from the world and we will not shun those who think and do differently than we do. But we CAN hold up God’s standard. We CAN raise the bar. And we can show others the light of Jesus Christ through the love and genuine concern and respect we have for those around us – regardless of our differences.

    We love homeschooling – we have seen our children thrive under its influence and have learned to gently stand firm through all of the criticisms and rude comments that bombard us. Though the greatest compliment is when people say “I never would have guessed they were homeschooled – they seem so “normal”! (showing that homeschoolers are breaking the nerd stigma that everyone labels us with! And NO I never wear denim jumpers!) ;o)

  21. I have three siblings, and not one of us followed the same path through school. In the mix were public, private, and even boarding schools. I appreciate that my parents looked at each of us kids individual and picked what was best for each of us rather than putting us into a “one size fits all” school.

    As for me and my family, our daughter is not school age yet, but we did last year build a house in the top school district in our area. It was a very intentional move on our part. Our hope is to send her to public, and then always be intentional enough about reinforcing our Christian values both at home, and by raising her in the church.

  22. i have been part of this talk for years. the pressure is crazy. i can say that when we HS Madi, it was not for her…it was for me. God needed me to stay home and learn to depend on William as the sole supporter of the family. that one year changed the way that we did everything, FOR THE BETTER. That being said, both kids are now in public school… Read More. We love it. The most important part, HS, Public, Private, is that you are involved. You read with them, talk to them, know thier teachers, friends, life. You can be a disconnected parent, even at home. Just love her the best you know how, whereever she is. XOX GOOD LUCK WITH THE MOMMIES!

  23. Heidi

    Great topic! Next time let’s discuss bottle vs. breast!

    We went through exactly what you are experiencing. I think it’s very common. Hunter had speech delay and was not talking at all by age 2. We went through Regional Center, who excepted him in their program and they paid for intense speech therapy from age 2 to 3. At 3, the kids are transitioned to the public school system and he participated in an early intervention pre-school program.

    We then found a non-religious private school (very hard to find, actually) right down the street from us. They had a small campus and a small class size. Our choice to go private was due to class sizes in public schools in our area. Hunter, while social, is a very quiet child, who was never put in day-care (lucky for us, I’m not knocking daycare). We really worried about how well he would be served in a large classroom (we all know the sqeaky-wheel gets the grease, and he’s too quiet for that) and so we went private. It’s very expensive ($10k per year, I might as well give you the facts) but Hunter has thrived in this atmosphere. We’ve given up many things to be able to pay this sum, but we do it willingly.

    My advice is to look at the schools around you (both public and private), visit them (yes, you can do this) and see what you like. Believe me, it doesn’t get easier. We are stressing out about where he will go to jr. high since his current school only goes to 6th grade (he’s starting 3rd grade).

    Good luck. Oh, and BTW, we even considered home schooling, got all the paperwork and found out how it works, etc. but his current school fit our needs.

    Love ya,
    Heidi

  24. wowzer. thats a tough subject.
    and I kind of think you have to take it one day at a time, one child at a time.
    I have many friends who had one sibling in private while they went to public.
    As a product of private school I feel that I received a great education but I don’t know that it was superior to the public schools of my heyday. I know many who switched from private to public for academic reasons and have gone on to great success. My fiance went to public school and I went to private and we ended up meeting in college.
    I also know that there are the exact same things going on in a private/ parochial school that there are in a public school. And sometimes its worse.
    We started out w/ a private non-denominational private pre-school. but as costs increased we were forced to change.
    When she started Kindergarten she went to public school and has since. And I can honestly say that we LOVE it. She went to one of the better schools in our area and when we move next week will be going one of the top rated schools in that community as well. I am very involved in her class and school activities and we have been blessed to have such wonderful teachers that she was able to thrive under. I can’t wait to see what other opportunities this new school has to offer and am just praying that we continue to be blessed in her teacher and class selection and if not then we will make the necessary adjustments and changes.
    But I fully believe that it is also what is taught at home as well as the classroom that makes a child who they are. It is up to us as parents to instill in them a faith and belief system of value so that they are able to take on and handle the influences of the outside world.
    As for us, we will have to wait and see what this next school year brings and what will really work for us.
    All in all, its up to the parents to do what is in the best interest of their children and their families.
    I’m sure whatever decision you and Sean choose will be the right one for you!

  25. I am not a mom yet but I have thought about this a lot. I went to private K-12 and my husband went to public K-12 so we obviously have a difference of opinion. 🙂 There are definitely pros and cons to both. Thankfully we live an area that was wonderful public schools so that is where we are leaning right now. The private school in our area is $8,000 a year per child right now so who knows what it will be when we have a kindergartner….$10,000? Crazy! The public school our kids would go to is fairly small so that makes me feel better for some reason. 🙂

  26. Hi Rachel. Thank you for the comment on the pics of my daughter. Now to the question at hand. My son went to a Christian private school for pre-K and Kindergarten. I loved it, and so did he. And I believe it really helped put him on the right track for public school. He has been in public schools since 1st grade and is doing just fine. Hopefully, I can use the same process for my daughter, but I’ve got a couple of years before I decide. Public school can be just fine, just know the district you live in and stay involved. Get on the PTA, do whatever you need to do. The involved parent is the best parent whether that be at home, in public or private school. :o)

  27. Your Brother

    Some ideas for topics-

    How old is the earth? 6000-100000000000 years.

    Harder to be a male of female in todays society.

    Is there an afterlife?

    Michael Jackson- Prince or Pervert?

    Gay Marriage?

    Abortion Rights?

    Heck- You just posted about telling it how it is… Lets get this all out in the open!!!!

  28. I thought I’d homeschool for my girls… but now that they are 4 and 2.5, I find them too frustrating to be around all the time. I know, I know… that sounds bad, but they are so high energy and I really need the break. I’m definitely looking forward to when they start kindergarten!

    As for private vs. public… I’m torn. I’d like to go private, as I REALLY don’t like the public schools in my area, but the cost isn’t in our budget right now. But as soon as I can afford it, definitely private!!

  29. I have some experience here and I would say that nothing beats homeschooling during the primary years. I made it up to sixth grade with my son and wouldn’t do it any other way. I don’t criticize anyone for using public or private school and don’t think anyone should criticize someone for choosing homeschooling! We are our children’s first teachers anyway, and why stop doing that when they become five or six? It’s a wonderful experience and one of my most precious memories is teaching him to read and the joy I felt at that accomplishment!
    XOXO
    Joni

  30. Well, so far, my girlfriend’s 3yr old daughter is enrolled in public preschool, but if I had my choice I would have preferred to enroll her in a private school. I find that there is more of a one-on-one rapport between student and teacher in the private setting, as was my experience while growing up. The idea is still up in the air, just a matter of time.

  31. I think you have to jump into whatever you choose to do wholeheartedly. I was homeschooled for most of my education and went to public for a few years here and there. I don’t regret my experiences in public and felt as though I missed out on some things by being homeschooled. Things are different now, more people homeschool and there are groups that you can join that weren’t around when I was a kid. I think that as far as private school is concerned, it is MY responsibility to teach my children Biblical truths and not the responsibility of teachers. I know there are people that think children should be taught Bible in school and I think that it is great that they are but ultimately it is my responsibility. Every child is different. Every child has different needs. You will know what to do when the time comes. 🙂

  32. Seems like the topic has been well covered. I agree with Emily that as parents we need to decide what’s best for our children with respect to their education, and we need to be involved regardless of the choice.

    My mother-in-law was a great example of this. She had 5 boys of varying intellectual and social capabilities. The public schools in their neighborhood were good, not great, but the honors program at each school was excellent. My mother in law did whatever it took to ensure that all 5 boys were in the honors program. She fought tirelessly for her kids when it came to their education. All 5 of her sons graduated from a 4-year university – an impressive feat.

    Sadly, my mother in law did not live to see her baby graduate from college last June. And while she and I did not see eye to eye on everything, she was a wonderful example to me in that respect. I intend to be an integral part of my girls’ education – both inside the home and at school (since we’re sending them to public schools).

  33. Mary L

    I have loved skimming over everyone’s comments because clearly people love their kids and want to do what’s best for them.
    My personal rating system (subject to change without notice):
    First choice: a good Christian school
    Second choice: homeschool (AAAGGHGHGHG)
    Third choice: public school
    I went to a private school growing up and what I loved about it is this-I learned about every single subject from a Christian viewpoint. I had Bible class every day in addition to devotions with my parents at night. I had Christian adults around me all day long to answer my questions. My parents had a say in what I learned there. I want so badly to give this to my kids. For me as I grew up, it was natural to look to God for the answers to all my questions in life because I had been taught that God played an important role in everything. Like Noelle said, I want it mostly for the elementary years, and then as Nicole said, it depends on the kid. As a public school teacher, I don’t think the teaching there is bad at all. But it is not from a Christian perspective and that’s what bothers me.

  34. It’s great that you have created a platform for so many women to voice their opinions!! Bravo!
    Constance

  35. I grew up in private, then public school. Private university. Hub was public all the way.

    We wanted our children to get a good, solid Catholic education, so we sent our children to Catholic school, but there were significant problems with both schools, so we pulled them and went public.

    We’ve been all over the educational map. We’ve been home educating for three years now and wouldn’t change a thing.

    We much prefer a more orthodox approach to the faith; being able to cater to our children’s strengths; having the freedom to change curriculum choices when it’s a bad fit with the child. Everyone has a learning preference and we are seeing a higher rate of success when we can tailor academics to the path of least resistance. : )

    Home education–that’s my final answer. : )

  36. I would add, too, that my background is in Elementary Education, although I never formally taught as a classroom teacher.

    The difference I’ve seen as a university-trained teacher, and a home educator? About 90% of our learning day is spent on learning, with very little on behavior/discipline. The management aspect of classroom education was a huge eye-opener for me; it was sobering to see how much time was spent on getting to the point where you can actually teach.

    As a mom of all boys, and being a fan of brain research, I love that I can really play to the innate strengths of the male brain physiology (ie, they can jump up and down when they need to; I understand that boys don’t have as much eye contact as girls; when they’re fiddling with things, that helps them to learn, they’re not ignoring me).

    For more information on brain research and the real physiological differences between the male and female brain, check out the good work being done at http://www.gurianinstitute.com/ (They’ve got a lot to say about the strengths of our girls, too! : )

    – Jennifer

  37. Your blog is delightful, you are adorable, and that little girl of yours is precious.

    Thanks for your comment.

    I’m curious to know how you found my blog…

    Ps. Love the bangs. Wish I could make mine look that good… with fabric scissors, none the less!

Leave a Reply

