extra fries please.

burger3277196648_c064234e83

Picture by Merriewells

oh my word, the upcoming holiday has me thinking about food.  Im making two new recipes and look forward to feasting on Saturday night with friends (everyone is bringing food to share, which makes me giddy).

 So, riddle me this….

*What is your favorite burger (please tell where you get it)?

*Do you have a particular food you always enjoy on the 4th that is just RIDICULOUSLY good?  If so–share and give the recipe if you want.

Oh man.  Im hungry.   

Seriously.  I want fries and it is only 7am.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “extra fries please.

  1. Vicki

    I like In and Out burgers with their homemade fries. I think that they are only on the West coast.

  2. as long as they are being served it is NEVER too early for french fries.
    we have an excellent turkey burger recipe but alas I am not the “grill master” and it is hidden from me. I don’t know what else he does but he puts cooked pieces of turkey bacon in there as well……ohhh divine!!!!
    wish i knew the recipe to pass on!!

  3. Your Brother

    When I think of America on 4th of July…. I think of the midwest and the south. Not to say that the coasts arent patriotic… but there IS something very “america” about those areas of the country.

    I cant help but think about places like Tennessee. And when you think about that… you think of a nice southern home with a rap-around patio. And when you think of THAT you think of sitting out… looking at fireflies, sitting with your dog. And you CANT do that without the greatest tradition of 4th of july. Whiskey.

    So… my answer… is Whiskey is the best thing for consumption 🙂

  4. Where on earth did you find that picture? That burger looks amazing.

    Maybe your brother should try mixing whiskey into his burgers. 😉

  5. My favorite burgers are homemade. There’s something about the not-pre-processed meat that gives them such great flavor and shape.

    And I reeeeallly love some of Rachael Ray’s recipes for burgers – one that I make has bacon bits, onions & worchestershire sauce mixed in – LOVE!

    Now I want fries…. thanks!

  6. Kat

    My favorite “burger” is the Garden Burger from Steve’s ( a burger place at Springdale and Warner). I don’t know what they do to it, but it is the best garden burger anywhere!!

  7. That hamburger looks amazing! My favorite hamburger comes from a grill shack outside of the local grocery store. They are only open 3 days a week and only from 10-2, but man, angus burgers fresh off the grill are amazing!

  8. Mary L

    On the 4th, Husband and I go for a walk at the El Dorado Nature Center and make the exact same sandwich every year for a picnic lunch (9th year!). It is: olive bread, homemade sundried tomato pesto spread, grilled portabello mushroom, grilled eggplant and zucchini, and fresh mozzarella. Highly recommend! My favorite burger is my mom’s “Armenian” burgers with chopped up bellpepper, onion, parsley, and seasoning mixed in. YUM!

    • Kat

      I love the El Dorado nature center, it feels like your in the middle of the wilderness, then all of a sudden you hear a car and remember you are in the middle of Long Beach.

  9. That hamburger and those fries look soooo YUMMY! Of course, I’d have to remove that nasty piece of bacon first. 😉

  10. The best burgers I’ve had have been In-N-Out, which sadly we don’t have here. So I think the next best thing is making my own hamburger patties with the chopped onion and spices.

    And on the 4th, we always have a pink salad that a member of our church made when we were living overseas when I was a kid. I don’t know exact amounts, but it’s a can of fruit cocktail, mixed with cottage cheese, whipped cream, and strawberry jello powder. It’s yummy!

    Another summer favorite – ice cream pie, which you can find here: http://thepotluckblog.blogspot.com/2008/08/pink-lemonade-pieice-cream-pie.html

    Have fun!!

  11. okay, i want THAT burger!!!

  12. That is the best lookin’ plate of food! Yummm-O! I am blog partyin’ and love your blog. I am adding you to the partay! Happy 4th!

  13. That picture is divine, messy goodness. Oy vey.

    In-N-Out does do a good burger. Like the best, but they are only on the West Coast. As for my burger (when I am feeling fancy), I make mine with ciabatta bread, bruschetta, pesto and mozzarella. A twist on a classic, but fresh and delicious.

Leave a Reply

