may I?

To my music loving friends out there….

Admittidly, I’m a bit of a music “snob”.  And what I mean by that is not that I judge you for what you are listening to, rather I am awefully picky about what I listen to.  I’m not one of those people that has 9 million songs on my iPod, just to prove that I “love music” or have a huge selection.  Money will sit in my iTunes account for months before I pick what music I want to buy.  When I DO buy music, i am in LOVE with it and listen over and over again.

Every LP, CD or album I have is worn thin from use.  I fall in love with my music and am selective.  So when I find music that I love, I pass it along.

Here are a few of my recent recommendations.

I have a hard time with lots of modern Christian music out there.  It all sounds the same to me, so I usually default to old school albums of hymns and musicians of the past (Keith Green).  BUT.  My favorite, modern Christian album of all time is by

BURLAP TO CASHMERE.  The album title is “Anybody Out There?”.

 Each song is amazing.

Next…..

Thanks to my awesome sista, friend, cousin, Janelle, I saw the movie ONCE and fell in love with the music of Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova.  The soundtrack is simply beautiful and my husband spoiled me and got me the LP (and I am a firm believer that most music sounds better quality on an LP, rather than a CD, but we don’t have to argue about that):

Photo 15

And finally….

Get anything by M. Ward.  Fabulous.  

 

So…there you go.  And thanks to some of you, I have learned of new music and even bought some….so thank you.  

Music makes my heart swell and is one of my most treasured things.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “may I?

  1. Kat

    I am not one of those people who are generally moved by music. I don’t own an ipod, I have probably less than 20 CD’s and I am soooo fine with that. There are a few songs that get me everytime I hear them, and they are “Voice of Truth” By Casting Crowns, I seriously get teary eyed in parts of it, and that is not me, at all. The other, I love because of it’s tongue-in-cheek spin on our battle with the flesh is “So Long Self” by Mercy Me.

    And just because I’m so 3008, “Boom Boom Pow” by the Black Eyed Peas.

  2. I totally forgot about the music from Once, ahhh I love that movie! We are going on a huge road trip at the the end of the week and I have been trying to put some new stuff on my Ipod, I will for sure add that soundtrack! Also I am the same when it comes to music on my ipod. I get real sick of songs that are over played on the radio so I try and find albums that are timeless. But it can be difficult when you have little ones who only want to listen to kid music or the latest pop song. But I have found The Beatles are always timeless and a sure crowd pleaser with your little ones ears. Sorry for the ramble I just love and live for music!

  3. I’ve heard that “Once” is awesome – I only know “Falling Slowly” from Kris’s performance on American Idol and it was amazing!

    Big Hillsong United fans here! I will have to check out Burlap to Cashmere – sounds wonderful!

  4. M. Ward is the soundtrack to my life! I’m in love with him too. AND, Once is incredibly amazing and I don’t think I’ll ever tire of it. Based on that little bit of information, another artist just popped into my head, worth checking out at the very least.

    Bon Iver – For Emma, Long Ago

    Another super old fashioned favorite of mine is Blossom Dearie…and for some reason, I think you’re someone who would appreciate her music. It makes for some good, light summery music and I love it. I always pull it out this time of year.

  5. Elma

    Oh I love music to:) Michael w. Smith Love . Is m ward Matthew Ward? Where do you find the lp fron the movie once? I also love Enya:)

  6. I am in love with the soundtrack to Once. Listened to it for three months straight 🙂 M.Ward rocks my socks!

    p.s. do you mind if I add you to the links on my blog?

  7. I’ll have to check out your picks– I’m like you, picky in the same way. I bought U2’s new CD and I’m in love with it– No Line on the Horizon.
    People don’t automatically think of U2 as a Christian rock band, but listen to Magnificent… It sends chills down my spine!!

  8. Mary L

    oooh, Sean does spoil you! Lucky! I loved that soundtrack. Did you like the movie? I didn’t want to say anything about it.

Leave a Reply

