enjoying today.

I think that I have been processing the brevity of life for a few months now.  There was an incident with one of my best friends and then my dad being diagnosed with cancer. I have been watching friends deal with the death of parents and loved ones.  It seems (to me) that when you are finally beginning to understand something and wrap your mind around it, your mind is tested with the enivitable circumstances of living in this world.  

You are born.

You live for a bit, make choices, cling to people, make an impact.

You die.

And as staunch as it sounds, that truly is what happens.  If it sounds too harsh, observe any person who has lost someone, even when they knew that they were dying.  We are, but a breath.  It always seems too sudden, too fast.  Never enough time.  In those days, people are stunned by how quickly life is over.

And I believe that the only thing that gives me comfort is knowing where I’m headed.  Our life is short and when we die we better know where we are spending eternity. You better know.  She better know, He better know.  

Until then, I chose to enjoy each day.  Hard, good, fun and sad days. Soak up the good and be blessed with the day before me.  Because life is short and it is over in a flash.

Psalm 39:4-6:

“Lord, make me to know my end,
and what is the measure of my days,
That I may know how frail I am.
Indeed, the number of my days is small like the size of a hand.
And my age is as nothing before You.
Certainly every man at his best state is but vapor.” 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “enjoying today.

  1. Amen. One of the best things I have learned is that I can choose to enjoy each day and the good and bad things it brings with it. Some days it is a harder choice than others, but, for me at least, it is always a choice.
    Thank you for reminding me.

  2. That’s it. Exactly what I’m dealing with right now. This week the hospice workers said my Mom probably has about a week left…. It’s tough. But I’ve watched my Mom suffer so much this last year, I am glad she will have a new life with God soon. Maybe that sounds bad, but when you know someone is terminally ill, you just don’t want them to suffer anymore.
    Take care Rach, you and your Dad are in my prayers.
    Love,
    Kelly

  3. So true. It’s hard to make this a daily lesson. It’s an important one.

  4. Mary L

    Very well said. Life does go by so fast, and when you are faced with your own mortality or that of a loved one, the Lord is such a comfort!

  5. So true Rachel! It’s sad that we have to go through bad experiences to realize that we should treasure the life, friends and loved ones that God has blessed us with.

Leave a Reply

