support

It comes in different forms.  Different ways.  In different moments.

Today, my uncle called me.  My dad’s younger brother.  We see each other weekly.  He is the pastor of my church and I worked with him for 6 years.  He was my boss, but now he is just my uncle.  And my friend.

He called and asked if he could stop by and drop off something he had for my husband and I.  Of course, I said “Sure!  Come on by-the doors open”. 

He came in, chatted, smelled my dinner I was cooking and then presented Sean and I with a gift.

The card said this:

IMG_6901

I know, right?  So thoughtful.

And then we opened the gift:

IMG_6902

He bought the LIVESTRONG braclets for everyone in our family! His wife and kids, my parents and bro and us.  Awesome.  

Along with this, he printed out the cornerstones of the Lance Armstrong Foundation.  I was inspired reading them.  A mantra for life.  A mantra for living for the Lord.  A mantra for a life, with or without cancer.

*We believe in life

*We believe in living every minute of it with every ounce of your being

*And that you must not let cancer take control of it

*We believe in energy: channeled and fierce

*We believe in focus: getting smart and living strong

*Unity is strength. Knowledge is power. Attitude is everything.

Sean and I are wearing our braclets as I write and will continue to.  As a reminder to keep positive, pray for my dad, trust in the Lord and live FULLY.

Thank you Brent for taking a moment, thinking of our family and showing us your love.

Stinkin’ awesome.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “support

  1. What a blessing to have someone so thoughtful in your life!

  2. what a neat guy! You are lucky to have such a wonderful family!

  3. Oh, what a fabulous show of support and a great idea!

    Suzanne

  4. Wow, what a great family you have! That’s awesome! Your dad is still in my prayers!

  5. That’s so so so neat. The Livestrong ideals are powerful words to live by for sure.

    All my love.

  6. Hey dear one,

    Been on my knees praying for your dad and your family this morning.

    Much love,

    Joanne

  7. So, so thoughtful. I really need to have tissues nearby when I check blogs!

  8. How wonderful– I’m going to print the words. Your in my prayers.

  9. how sweet and awesome.

    • Really fabulous action on uncle Brent’s part. Great idea. Still thinking positive for your dad and your whole family here. Stay strong and hold on to each other.

Leave a Reply

