Friday Finds.

I headed out to estate sales with April, Mel and Mary (get a blog already!) this morning and found some great stuff….

Can I just say that I love scrounging for vintage items?  It is like finding a needle in a haystack, but when I find something that I KNOW I will use and love (or for someone else), it makes me heart stop.  It truly is a passion of mine.  And its about the “green-est” type of shopping possible!  

It’s in my blood.

I decided to put some of my smaller finds on a tv tray.  These 1970’s (maybe 60’s), plastic tv trays came in a set of four and are fabulous.  I talked them down from 8 bucks to 6 because one is broken (can be fixed).  There are two PYREX mixing bowls in aqua and red (4 bucks for both!  BOOYAH!), some vintage Christmas ornaments from Woolworths and a tin can for saltine crackers.  I don’t know what drew me to that, but I think it is so cool that crackers came in tin cans rather than cardboard boxes.

IMG_6876

IMG_6877

This old yarn holder is being used as a container for books and remotes.  It’s got a funky pattern that I really like.  

IMG_6879

And……i bought a leather recliner.  I have always wanted a fancy, leather chair in my living room.  I don’t care for LARGE pieces of leather (i.e. leather couch), but love the idea of a worn-in leather piece.  When I saw this, it was just retro enough and has been used ALOT.  After cleaning it (there were several pork rinds in the sides….nice), we brought it in.  We love it.  LOVE it.  I already read for about an hour while Miss K was sleeping.  Can’t pass up $25.00.

IMG_6881

 

Can’t wait to head out again soon…..

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Friday Finds.

  1. The chair looks great! As do all the other things. Such a great time with you and can’t wait till next time!

  2. GRANDMA

    THE WOOLWORTHS ORNAMENTS TAKE ME DOWN MEMORY LANE…WHEN I WAS LITTLE MY MOM WAS ALWAYS IN WOOLWORTHS AT CHRISTMAS TIME BUYING BOX ORNAMENTS AND SHEEP, WISE MEN, COWS ETC TO ADD TO OUR CARDBOARD MANGER SCENE….I STILL HAVE ONE OF THE SHEEP AND ON THE BOTTOM OF HIS FOOT IT SAYS 10 CENTS..EVEN WHEN YOU AND JONATHAN WERE LITTLE I TOOK YOU TO WOOLWORTHS TO SIT AND EAT IN THERE LITTLE BAR AND GRILL…RED BOOTHS….ANY MEMORY OF IT????

  3. Elma

    You did great!! What wonderful finds. Love the leather chair:)

  4. Vicki

    My parents bought crackers in a tin just like that one. I think they still have it somewhere at the house.

  5. Awesome! I can’t wait to go!

  6. very cool finds! that recliner looks comfy!

  7. i love the saltine tin. so much. i’d have fought you for that one. =)

    and the yarn holder. good job.

  8. awesome! The dog seems to approve, too. 😉

  9. You did really well! $25 for a leather recliner – WOW! And the Woolworth’s ornaments made me smile and sigh – they closed down all the stores here earlier this year…another casualty of the credit crunch, it makes me sad.

    You’ll have to take Julie & I out with you in September – it looks like so much fun!

  10. Kristi

    Aw, the saltines tin takes me right back home. We’d fill it with crackers and take it camping…sigh. So sweet.

  11. The ornaments, the bowls… Gracious! What great finds! Take me with you next time…

  12. mandy

    when i come in cali, can i go with you??? 🙂 Your good at this…

  13. sdragoc

    I found you via the pyrex tag…I’m a lover of vintage goodness too!-Stephanie

Leave a Reply

