my response.

This is the first time I am going to speak about a specific political issue on my blog.

This will not be a habit.  This will not become a place where I jump onto my political soapbox, daily.  It’s not how I roll and I’m not keen on the idea of getting nasty emails and comments from people I don’t know, just so I can be “heard”.  However, this particular issue, for many reasons that I don’t care to share, is very important to me and I will, for once, take the hits and disclose how I feel.  Fully realizing that there are people who disagree.

 I will share my response to an interview I watched with President Obama and Brian Williams this evening. 

When asked for his response on the recent murder of Dr. George Tiller, President Obama’s first words were, “Murder is murder”.  He went on to explain that the idea of killing a man, in a church no less, is intolerable and unacceptable.  Even pro-life supporters would agree this is a heinous act.

My response….

I couldn’t agree more.

Murder is murder.  Murder of a man, no matter his vocation, is MURDER.  It is wrong. It is unacceptable. 

Why then, is it so very easy for people to turn the other way, speak softly as to not offend and skirt around the issue that babies are being stripped of their rights every day….just as George Tiller was?  Please explain to me how people can unequivocally call what happened to George Tiller “abhorrent”, and yet they will justify, defend and explain why it should be legal and accepted for a fetus to be aborted?  

Just as long as we feel bad about it and say, “it’s not ideal and it must be really hard for the woman making the choice”.  Then that makes it simply a poor choice, a hard choice, a undesirable outcome.  

What happened to George Tiller was not simply a poor choice or an undesirable outcome…  

It was wrong.  It was someone taking ANOTHER PERSONS LIFE INTO THEIR HANDS and making the choice to murder them.  It was wrong.

As it is when someone chooses to strip a small baby of their rights.  Ending their life.

 

 


28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “my response.

  1. cindy

    Right on. Murder IS murder. But, to me (speaking for myself here). It’s worse to murder and child, even worse to kill a toddler…and those who murder infants are notorious! SO, what about the torturous murder of 6 month gestated infant? Monstrous in my book.

  2. You are very brave to speak out on this and I just want to say I agree with every word you wrote! Killing is never the answer to any problem.

  3. Elma

    OH boy!! Murder is murder and when you take a life no matter if the person is 50 years old or a baby in the womb it is murder! I just don’t understand that people have NO problem killing an innocent baby in the womb but get outraged when a person is murdered. It is all the same. It drives me nuts when people say it is only a fetus. It is a BABY!!! When you can see a heart beat and see a baby move on an ultra sound and they say it is not a baby. I remember in high school a girl had an abortion and went nuts after she saw her baby in a bucket moving around she just lost it. I also wonder and can’t believe that anyone could ever perform a late term abortion. I also wonder what women feel after they had an abortion and then later had a baby do they ever wonder about the one they murdered?? But as we know we all will stand before our maker our wonderful father and HE our Heavenly Father WILL JUDGE. We all will have to answer for what we have done on this earth. Every time I gave birth to a miracle (which was eight times) I would think of all the babys that were killed and the ones people just throw away. Thanks for a wonderful topic for all of us to think about. Love ELma

  4. Amen!!! So proud you wrote this post!
    “It is important for people to know what you stand for. It is equally important that they know what you won’t stand for!”
    Many Blessings!

  5. Yes, thank you for having the courage to say this! I hate they hypocrisy we see sometimes on this subject. No one should ever take an innocent life. Was just watching the news the other day and a pregnant woman was murdered and there was an outcry of people hoping that the murderer, if caught, would be charged with the murder of the baby in utero, too. I agree with that idea, but what is the difference between someone else killing the baby and the mother choosing to end a pregnancy? There is none!

  6. Vicki

    I’m with you all the way.

  7. Kat

    First, let me say, I am pro-life. As a mother, I can’t fathom killing my child…well now that is.

    I got pregnant at the ripe ol age of 20. To say I was scared is an understatement. Terrified would be more like it. I wish I could say that the day that stick turned blue was one of jubilation, but honestly it was one of hysterical tears. I was unwed, unemployed, living a dead-end life. I saw it as the end of me. All I saw was the disappointed faces of my family, the glares of people starring at my growing belly, the phrase “stupid girl” kept swirling around in my head. I didn’t want to raise a kid the way I was living, and all my “friends” kept telling me an abortion would solve it all. It sounded tempting, after all I wouldn’t have to tell anyone about my “oops”. I wouldn’t have to bring my first child into poverty. I decided that I was going to do it, and then I would cahnge my life, so that the next time I had a baby, it would be different.

    But the more I thought about it, the more sick to my stomach I felt. I couldn’t imagine walking in a mother and leaving without a baby. Having my child vacuumed out of and discarded as medical waste made me heave. BUT the fear, the gripping fear of what lay ahead if I didn’t do it was just as panic filling.

    The decision was overwhelming, which ever way I went it was overwhleming. Neither seemed like a good option.

    But, God’s voice was too loud to go through with it. The hardest, best decision I ever made was to face the reality that I was now a mother and there was no going back.

    It makes me cry when I stop to think that I almost killed Serena. I may not have known her name then, but it was still her in my womb. She was the best reason God could have given me to change my life.

    Being a mom at 20 was devastating and amazing all at the same time. And I do wish I could have done it the right way, but to think that God blessed me with this baby IN SPITE of my sin, wow; I can’t believe I was ever ready to throw that away.

    I really feel for women who have abortions. I know the pain they feel, I just wish they could glimpse the joy that I have now with my 7 year old angel.

    • Elma

      Beautiful!! As we know we all sin and make mistakes but our Heavenly Father forgives our sins an wipes our slate clean and remembers them no more! My 23 year old also is a single mother and I am soo thankful that she had this blessing and she is to:)

  8. Completely agree. Thanks for putting it out there.

  9. Wow! Just reading this and reading the comments people have put makes me have tears in my eyes. It truly is the tradgedy of our generation. I hope and pray that one day we will have nation wide awakening on the fact that ALL LIFE IS PRECIOUS, GOD ORDAINED AND NOT OURS TO TAKE!!! Well spoken Rach!

  10. Michelle Eastman

    BEST quote ever on this topic:

    “I find it interesting that those who support abortion have already been born.” Ronald Reagan.

    Totally true – no one “decided” if their life was worth living but THEY get to decide if someone else’s is worth it ….

    true hypocrisy.

  11. Mary L

    Couldn’t agree more!! Ms. Jenn, I love the point that you made. And Kat, your story made me cry! Good for you, Rachel, for saying what is right.

  12. I wonder this too. Michelle, I love that quote too!

  13. I forget where I found you exactly. I was surfing blogs and I think I found your comment on some blog, and then thought your blog name was adorable, and I am passionate about the subject you posted about, so here I am.

    Love your blog!

  14. I’m so glad Kat shared her story – on such a hot button issue as abortion, we all sometimes forget there are real people dealing with this issue everyday. I appreciate her candor and her empathy for others that face the same decision.

    I’d like to bring up 2 topics that flow from this discussion. I think most of the other comments have addressed the validity of your point and the fact that you are very brave to post it. So here are my two points:

    (1) As Christians and as compassionate people, we must do more to help women and families in crisis in this country. It is very easy for us to stand in an ivory tower looking down on those that are downtrodden or that have taken one (or many) missteps in their lives, and say they are not “my” responsibility or that I don’t want to pay another dollar in tax money to help “those” people. If we would like for every life, planned or unplanned, to come into this world, then as Christians it is our obligation to find ways to care for those families. When I think of the abortion debate I think of children that are born into a world where the deck is so unfairly stacked against them – in my opinion as Christians we must walk the walk and give what we can to families in crisis. Donate your clothes, baby items, or toys to a shelter that serves low income families or unwed mothers. Volunteer your time with these women and children. Help them to find their way so that their children have a fighting chance at a blessed life.

    (2) I would hope everyone that is pro life takes a good hard look at their stance on the death penalty. I’ve debated this issue with others that try to justify why state sanctioned murder is somehow justified. The reason I hear most of the time is that the inmate on death row “deserves” it. But as you so clearly stated, murder is murder. There are some staggering statistics that upwards of 70% of death row inmates have been released from prison because their convictions were erroneous. That means of those prisoners waiting to die, over half of them should not be on death row – or even in prison – in the first place. There is no doubt in our nation’s history that many prisoners have been executed that were in fact innocent. Just as it is wrong to take the life of an innocent fetus, it is wrong for the government to execute an innocent man, especially when the fallacies of our legal system (i.e. money can and will buy you freedom) can allow for innocent men to be convicted and eventually executed for a crime they did not commit.

  15. GRANDMA

    IN 1979 MY FIRST BABY DIED 3 WEEKS BEFORE MY DUE DATE…..I DELIVERED NATURALLY AFTER MY DR. BROKE MY WATER….THIS WAS A HARD AND SAD TIME FOR DADDY AND ME BUT THE LORD WAS PRESENT IN OUR WEAKNESS….IN RECOVERY, SEPERATED BY ONLY A HOSPITAL CURTAIN, THE GIRL IN THE BED NEXT TO ME HAD JUST ABORTED A 6 MOS PREGANCY….I KNEW THIS BECAUSE WE SHARED THE SAME NURSE WHO HAD ASSISTED THIS PROCEDURE….SHE WAS VISIBLY SHAKEN….TO WRITE HOW THIS WOMAN WAS INJECTED WITH SALINE FLUID INTO HER AMNIOTIC FLUID AND THEN……..AFTER THE NECESSARY TIME SHE DELIVERED A DEAD BABY..FULLY FORMED AND SENT WITH THIS NURSE TO BE DISCARDED STILL CAUSES MY HANDS TO SHAKE AND MY HEART TO POUND…IT TAKES TOTAL DENIAL FOR PRO CHOICE PEOPLE TO SAY THIS ISNT WHAT THEY SUPPORT…..LATE TERM ABORTIONS ARE NOW AND HAVE BEEN PERFORMED REGULARLY SINCE 1973….EVERYDAY….THE DECEPTION OF THIS CULTURE AMAZES ME…PS…..IVE NEVER SPOKEN OF THIS IN OPEN…..IT STILL GRIPS MY SOUL……………

  16. Dad

    How well I also remember……the tears in the nurses eyes, the look of contempt…..I wasn’t made at the girl as I could hear sobs…..but the doctor…..and yet in that moment, the Lord used the peace and comfort that were being lived out in Mom and I as a “Light upon the Hill”!! It wasn’t coming from inside of us….it came from Him. All of the nurses were touched to the core of their being…..I just can’t comprehend how folks can do this……people spend more time and energy trying to save whales…..sad sad world…..

  17. GRANDMA

    I AGREE THAT AS BELIEVERS WE NEED TO HELP….IM THANKFUL FOR THE MANY PEOPLE I KNOW WHO HAVE DONATED MANY HOURS AND THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS TO LOVE AND SUPPORT WOMEN IN NEED…..IF ANYONE NEEDS A WONDERFUL MINISTRY TO SUPPORT….IN TIME, MONEY OR BOTH, “NEW LIFE BEGININGS” IS THE PLACE FOR YOU…..REBECCA YOUNGER STARTED THIS MINISTRY DECADES AGO AND ITS AMAZING HOW ITS GROWN FROM A SMALL GROUP OF LADIES TO AN ENORMOUS WORK OF GOD. I KNOW THEY ALWAYS NEED MORE HELP…….

  18. Good for you- Don’t be bashful about your soapbox- especially when there is one view which is supposed to be “enlightened” and “progressive” and you happen to be on the other side of it. Let that little light SHINE, girl! Don’t be bashful!

  19. love you for posting this! you are not alone. the media makes us believe that we are in feeling this way. but we are not!!

  20. Amen! Let the truth be heard!

  21. I agree Rachel. I think the subject of abortion has been stripped down to soundbites. A women’s right to choose? What a soundbite.
    Neither of my girls were “planned” by me. The bigger spiritual lesson for me was learning how God (life) supports life. Financially, I didn’t know how we we’re going to make it either time. But the money showed up, people showed up to help in my times of need. My girls are thriving and God is the reason why.

Leave a Reply

