get yer workout on.

So, my husband and I have been doing the “30 Day Shred with Jillian Michael’s” excersise video for about 2-3 months now.  (Thanks Shanna and Sarah for introducing us-and by thank you I mean that I never want to speak to you again).  Sean’s a good sport and works out in the morning by himself and STILL does it with me at night.  #1 husband, for sure!

We love it.  We hate it.  It kicks us into shape.

It is the best workout video I have ever done and I was an AVID Jane Fonda fan.  Anyone else?  Yup…I sported the leg warmers. All the cool kids did it….

jane fonda

I did THAT actual Jane Fonda workout.  What was AWESOME about it was that the lady to the left of Jane Fonda (in the blue-ish/green-ish color) would run to the front and lead the cardio workout AND sing a song at the same time.  The song was about pushing towards your dreams and “workin’ hard”. It was amazing.  And the lady in the yellow diaper to the right was INTENSE.  Those zanny 80’s.  

Anyhoo–“JM” (derivative of Jillian Michael’s) is our new workout of choice and we have been lovin’ it.  

I have been averaging about 4 times a week but think I would like to press myself a little more to 6 times a week.  Not for any other reason except that I love how I feel when I am doing it more. I feel better, get up earlier in the morning and have a skip in my step!!   I won’t beat myself up if I can’t, but it is a goal.

So….

WHO is with me?  Anyone want to commit to 6 days a week for a month?  If you do–let me know and we can be in touch.  It would be fun!  (right?  Is fun the word?)  Comment and let me know if you do this workout of if another one works better for you.  Switchin’ it up is good too.

Even if you don’t want to jump on board with me for 6DAW (6 Days a week), get this workout–it is AWESOME.  You will hate me and love me at the same time.

jillian-michaels-30-day-shred

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “get yer workout on.

  1. Kat

    I miss Mousercise…anyone with me????

  2. gina

    Saw this on The Simple Wife and totally want to try it…but #1, I don’t have the $$ to buy it right now and #2, 6 days, really? Are these lame excuses? Gah.

  3. OMG I have that Jane Fonda tape as well… I hated how she did the arms back and forth…. So wrong but I loved it! Plus the creepy guy in the back!

  4. pve

    Jess from “Make under my life” (on my blog roll)
    has motivated me to run again, and I am averaging 4 x a week…but what’s 2 more times…? Hey, I’ll take all the support I can get to feel better and look better too. I will check out that video!
    pve

  5. Oh Yes! My mom had that exact Jane video and I remember grabbing my leotard and legwarmers and totally doing it with her. I also remember the lady in the yellow diaper being way too intense!

    Hilarious!

  6. Your Brother

    I remember mom making it fun for us to workout with her to this. I remember that the whole thing seems now like the soundtrack to Scarface and other 80s movies. I remember that everybody would go WOOOOOooooooWOOOOOO! ALL the time. The Jog and clap. The synchronized jogging in place while reordering where everyone is standing. Dad calling it a communist work out tape because its Jane Fonda. Good times.

  7. Oh you know I am IN, Rachel!!! I just bough it yesterday, which is a big step for me since EVERYTHING I have is from the library lately lol! But I love love LOVE Jillian- she scares me into working out, I feel like she is right there with me hehe!! So after a few months, what level are you up to now?? Level one is still a killer hehe! I’ll be working out later today when Andrew goes down for a nap, yay! Thanks for motivating me! xoxox Holly

  8. so i too used to be a HUGE fan of Jane Fonda’s workout! it a shame there wasnt much actual physical benefit other than great music and amusing fashions……(sigh)
    I will definitely join you in your challenge! email me or call if you need any encouragement or want to vent! I do the workouts “on demand” (read because I am too lazy and cheap to go to Target and pay for them)
    I have been doing 3 days but would love to step it up….I too LOVE the way I feel after a work out and how it makes my whole day roll better (or so it seems)
    does Sean really like it? I want my fiance Damon to start but wasnt sure if it was too “girl-i-fied” for him and didnt know any men who do it!
    when do we start?

  9. I would like to thank you (meaning I will never speak to you again) for introducing me to JM. I just won a month pass to a local kickboxing gym that expires this month, so I will be punching and kicking my way to bathing suit season there. But I will be JMing it as well.

    May the force be with you…

  10. noelle

    i’m with you! i love yoga, but its too time consuming – i really don’t have 90 minutes to spend exercising everyday – so JM sounds perfect. i’ll pick it up sometime this week & will let you know if i’ll be speaking to you again anytime soon 🙂

  11. You had me laughing so hard with the “yellow diaper” comment. LOL!

  12. How funny that Jan fonda video, so true…. Well I am there 7 times a week!! I know insane, but I have a bay trip coming up soon and I am trying my hardest to get in great shape before it.

    So your hubby rocks seriously he does the shred 2 times a day, eek!!

  13. Vicki aka Janna's Mom

    I just recieved the JM workout DVD yesterday, and tried it first thing this morning. Boy are my legs and rearend crying. I go to Curves 3 days a wwwk and am going to try and do JM’ workout on the off days. I must admit when I watched a little of it, I thought “how hard can it be, I can do that”. Boy was I wrong. Sure I can do it but, boy it is HARD work. I keep telling myself it is for my own good.

    Helpful Tip:I got my copy from a seller on Amazon and including shipping it was less than $10.

  14. I heard that’s a great workout video! I’ve been trying to do my Wii Fit and I have a “kickboxing boot camp” class that starts this thursday………I’m prepared to have my b*tt kicked!

  15. GRANDMA

    JONATHAN BROUGHT IT ALL BACK TO ME!!!!!I WAS CRACKING UP AFTER REMEMBERING JANE FONDA AND FRIENDS…..YOU GUYS DID DO THAT WORK OUT WITH ME………WHAT GREAT MEMORIES…..THE YELLOW DIAPER LADY WAS INDEED A CHARACTER…AND I ALSO LOVED THE LONG HAIRED TINY GIRL WHO WAS JANES “HELPER”……..I LOVE THAT I CAN CLOSE MY EYES AND PICTURE US DOING THE EXERCISES….HAVING GREAT FUN…..UNTIL DADDY STARTS HIS JANE FONDA HISTORY LESSON…….=)

  16. I have been lovin the shred too!! But I am good with 4 days! :0)

  17. I plan on starting this workout once my baby is born. Hoping it will help me *shred* that baby weight! LOL Glad to hear it is really good, I love that it only takes 20 minutes a day, cause that’s about all I have!

  18. Gah. Fine. I’m in. I hate working out, but I feel like this post is a message from God!

  19. I started this DVD last week and got 5 workouts in. I’m in for 6 a week (except camping this weekend)… it will give me great motivation.

    I just found your blog and I love it! I can’t wait to keep reading:)

  20. Mary L

    Well, since you recommended this video to me about a month ago, I have been averaging one time a month, and have not been getting the best results. Maybe I should pick it up a little?? I have been looking for a one-piece-from-my-boobs-to-knees bathing suit, but have been unsuccessful in that endeavor. I guess there is only one way to lose this last bit of baby weight and that is to actually try and lose it, so FINE I’m in.

  21. I may have to look into this workout and join along (gotta fit into a bridesmaid dress in 3 weeks), but how easy would it be to do while on vacation? Hmmm…we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

