one for the road.

***ADDENDUM: Some readers are thinking, in order to comment on this post, they have to answer ALL the questions.  Not so!  Just answer the ones that strike your fancy.  Sorry if I didn’t make this clear!***

Hey readers.

I’m leaving soon for some vacation time with my family.  I’ll be taking Millie (the MAC) with me, so I will be around, but not sure the frequency.  It’s always a toss up whether the cabins have internet access or not.  We’ll see.  If I can’t “connect” in the cabin, there is a sweet little coffee shop in town that we like to go to, sip on some java and surf the web.  So, have no fear.  I will be back.  Just not sure how often.

I’m excited to go.  I’m excited to breath clean air and see trees that are old.  I’m excited to hike with Miss K, relive old memories from my dad’s childhood and read.  I’m excited to not workout (I am not one of those people that insists on working out on vacation to “maintain the healthy lifestyle”) and eat and cook. I’m excited to bask in God’s creation. I’m excited to spend time with my family.  I’m just excited.  I will be back next Tuesday.  Or Wednesday.  We haven’t decided.

I wouldn’t leave you without something to do, though.  I thought the next post would be fun for all.  I love learning about what other people like/use/cherish.  So…..go to it!  

     Au revoir!

           *******************

I find that some of my most favorite things/books/websites/movies/restaurants/stores/recipes are given to me from friends and family.  I enjoy learning from people and their opinions and hobbies. Their interests and recommendations.  I have loved seeing places through other peoples eyes while traveling, or cooking a meal and thinking of the original chef.  It’s just plain fun. 

SO.

I thought a post (well, it will end up being more than one post) full of recommendations would be just jazzy!

I would love your personal recommendations on the following things and I will construct a post of all of them and recognize who put them, so if someone wants more information, they can contact you via your blog/email etc (if you would rather not be contacted, no problem-I would still love to hear from you).  If your rec. has a link-leave that too! I have a very diverse readership, so if you don’t have a recommendation for some of them, leave the ones you like! Or answer them all!

Selfishly, I’m really excited about this because I always like seeing/hearing/visiting and experiencing new things.

What are your recommendations for:

*Best hidden restaurant in your town (include town).

*Best magazine and why you love it.

*Best free resource in your area.

*Best movie you have seen.

*Best kid-friendly game (any kind will do).

*Best website (let em’ fly)!

*Best baby product.

*Best homeschooling curriculum.

*Best recipe with 5 ingredients or less.

*Best money-saver website.

*Best cleaning product.

*Best coffee.

*Best book on the history of the United States of America.

*Best city to travel to with young children.

*Best power drill (hey…I have dudes that read my site too).

*Best mascara.

*Best day trip to take in California.

*Best dessert you have ever had and where Rachel we can find it.

*Best museum to visit (money=no object).

*Best unknown TV show to watch.

*Best book of the bible to read when you sit down and can’t decide.

*Best candy.

*Best CD.

*Best quote.

*Best quality in a friend.

*Best biblical scripture for encouragement.

*Best joke.

*Best cure-all remedy.

 

Ready……..GO!

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “one for the road.

  1. *Best hidden restaurant in your town (include town). Ice House in Madison, Georgia

    *Best magazine and why you love it. Mary Engelbreit’s Home Companion (and it no longer exists! Boo hoo)

    *Best kid-friendly game (any kind will do). Mastermind

    *Best homeschooling curriculum. Saxon Math or Key Curriculum

    *Best cleaning product. Soft Scrub

    *Best coffee: Eight Oclock

    *Best book on the history of the United States of America. Any by William Bennett

    *Best city to travel to with young children. Washington DC

    *Best power drill (hey…I have dudes that read my site too). My cordless screw driver.

    *Best museum to visit (money=no object). Musee D’Orsay (because you have to go to Paris to see it!)

    *Best book of the bible to read when you sit down and can’t decide. -Psalms or James

    *Best quality in a friend. Honesty

    *Best biblical scripture for encouragement.
    “Look at the birds of the air” Matthew 6:26-34

  2. number17cherrytreelane

    It’s only fair if I give mine:

    *Best hidden restaurant in your town (include town).
    MARRI’s Pizza in Long Beach, CA

    *Best magazine and why you love it.
    CRAFTzine. Inspiration galore.

    *Best free resource in your area.
    Public library system. Easy.

    *Best movie you have seen.
    Well, I would say Mary Poppins, but that is predictable. Rear Window by Hitchcock.

    *Best kid-friendly game (any kind will do).
    Hungry Hungry Hippo. Freeze Tag.

    *Best website (let em’ fly)!
    http://www.poppytalk.blogspot.com, http://www.antiquesroadshow.com, http://www.warymeyers.blogspot.com, http://www.apartmenttherapy.com http://www.thesartorialist.blogspot.com, http://www.grahamandgreen.co.uk. I could go on for about an hour. I have an RSS of over 500 sites that I adore. Thank you internet.

    *Best baby product.
    Johnsons and Johnsons shampoo. I use it.

    *Best homeschooling curriculum.
    I have no clue. The bible? An encyclopedia?

    *Best recipe with 5 ingredients or less.
    Email me for my meatloaf recipe. Its the bomb.

    *Best money-saver website.
    http://www.giveaways4mom.blogspot.com

    *Best cleaning product.
    Folex. Done.

    *Best coffee.
    Yuban. I stand by that stuff.

    *Best book on the history of the United States of America.
    The Intellectual Devotional: American History.

    *Best city to travel to with young children.
    Your guess is as good as mine.

    *Best power drill (hey…I have dudes that read my site too).
    Tell me!
    I’m thinking DeWalt?

    *Best mascara.
    Maybelline GREAT LASH. 15 years and counting.

    *Best day trip to take in California.
    The Getty.

    *Best dessert you have ever had and where Rachel we can find it.
    Mini cheesecakes I made were pretty good.

    *Best museum to visit (money=no object).
    The MET. I loved it. But I NEED TO GO TO The Smithsonian. Never been. Want to so bad.

    *Best unknown TV show to watch.
    The Mentalist.

    *Best book of the bible to read when you sit down and can’t decide.
    I’ll always say Esther.

    *Best candy.
    Violet Crumble.

    *Best CD.
    U2 Joshua Tree. SHE and HIM. Billie Holiday “Lady In Autumn”

    *Best quote.
    CARPE DIEM

    *Best quality in a friend.
    Honesty.

    *Best biblical scripture for encouragement.
    1 Peter 5:7

    *Best joke.
    A man walks into a bar…………….ouch.

    *Best cure-all remedy.
    Laughing.

  3. Kat

    Go to the Chili Pepper in Orange (off Main, past La Veta). Gret mexican food, great prices, they give you these mini bean and cheese burritos for an appetizer (free) and these little apple/cinnamon empanadas for dessert(again, free).

  4. Best hidden restaurant in your town: La Parolaccia (LB), Oaxaca Mio (LB), Porkys BBQ (LB)
    Best magazine and why you love it: Meatpaper. I love it because it’s unique and all about meat!
    Best free resource in your area: Library, for sure. But I also love visiting the Japanese Garden at CSULB.
    Best kid-friendly game: Candyland!
    Best baby product: Burts Bees
    Best recipe with 5 ingredients or less: Shrimp Provencal (Shrimp, capers, lemon, garlic, parsley) Delicious!
    Best money-saver website: Great coupons for Organic Valley products http://www.organicvalley.coop/
    Best cleaning product: Love all Seventh Generation
    Best coffee: Black Onyx from LAMill (in Silverlake)
    Best day trip to take in California: Santa Barbara
    Best dessert you have ever had and where to can find it: Chocolate “Kit Kat” Bar, my house 😉 http://modernfoodie.blogspot.com/2009/02/chocolate-kit-cat-bar.html
    Best museum to visit (money=no object): Louvre, Paris
    Best unknown TV show to watch: Was Pushing Daisies, but it’s not on anymore 😦 After Hours with Daniel, Bones
    Best candy: Darryl Lee Licorice
    Best CD: Imogene Heap
    Best quality in a friend: Loyalty

  5. Here it goes:
    Best hidden restaurant~ Big Bellie Deli, Newport Beach California (get the chicken salad sandwhich, it is the BEST!) or Blue Agave, Yorba Linda CA (fajita enchiladas are also amazing!)

    Best Magazine~ Real Simple. It gives some of the best ideas and tips for Real Simple moms like us.

    Best Website~ Etsy.com and Starfall.com (great learning website for preschool aged kids)

    Best Recipe 5 ingredients or less~ Taquito Enchiladas: 20-24 forzen taquitos, Green chilie enchilada sauce, cheese, olives (optional), bake at 450 for 20-25 minutes, absolutley delicous!

    Best Mascara~ Benifits Bad Gal Lash or Maybellines collasal mascara

    Best quality in a friend~ I think a great friend brings out the best in you and that is a great quality to have

    Best cure all remidie~ Head rubs and hugs from your kids, works every single time!

    This was fun! It’s impossible for me to pick a best CD, I am always amazed at people who can pick just one, I have like 50!

  6. hey honey…stumbled in here via another blog…if you have aldi over there their brazilian coffee is fantastic!…hope you have a lovely holiday…

  7. Oh Rachel, I LOVE the cds you mentioned! Love She and Him and Billie Holliday especially! This is such a great post, I’m excited to share my little corner of the world : )

    *Best hidden restaurant in your town (include town).
    Arnone’s Little Italy in Orange, CA. A friend of mine owns it, another friend works there and it’s the BEST, most authentic Italian food I’ve ever had. GO.

    *Best magazine and why you love it.
    COOKING LIGHT. I find some really great, healthy recipes here. I also love REAL SIMPLE. Great everyday ideas for just everything under the sun.

    *Best free resource in your area.
    1. Public Libraries
    2. Fullerton Arboretum
    3. The Norton Simon Museum of Art-Free for students every day!
    4. Bowers Museum (Santa Ana)- Free on Tuesdays, I believe.
    5. Laguna Beach Art Walk-Free on the 1st Thursday of every month.
    6. OCMA-Orange County Museum of Art-Free on the 2nd Sunday of every month.
    7. Long Beach Museum of Art-Free every Friday.
    8. Japanese Gardens at Cal State Long Beach-small but free. Lot’s of gorgeous koi fish!
    9. The Getty Center-Free admission
    10. MOCA-Museum of Contemporary Art (L.A.)-Free every Thursday from 5-8pm.
    11. LACMA- Los Angeles County Museum of Art-Free from 5-8pm daily.

    *Best kid-friendly game (any kind will do).
    I’m a major Scrabble fan and I believe they make a kid’s version too. The little motorized fishing games rocked my world as a kid! Cranium makes really fun, fantastic kids games but I don’t know the names. When my brothers were younger they LOVED them.

    *Best website (let em’ fly)!
    http://digital-photography-school.com/
    http://www.designspongeonline.com/
    http://www.treehugger.com/
    http://www.mentalfloss.com/blogs/
    http://www.facebook.com
    http://www.flickr.com/
    http://www.deviantart.com/
    http://www.etsy.com/
    http://iloveyoumorethanblank.com/
    http://www.listology.com/
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/
    http://www.marthastewart.com/
    http://www.fandango.com/
    http://www.imdb.com/
    http://www.ratemyprofessors.com/index.jsp
    http://www.anthropologie.com/
    http://www.theatermania.com/
    http://www.webmd.com/
    http://www.google.com/
    http://www.transparenthouse.com

    *Best recipe with 5 ingredients or less.
    LEMON SPAGHETTI:
    1 lb. dried spaghetti
    2-3 fresh lemons (1/4 cup lemon juice plus the zest of one lemon)
    1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese (any kind will do)
    1/3 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
    fresh basil

    DIRECTIONS:
    1. Prepare pasta as per manufacturer’s directions.
    2. In a large bowl, whisk together all ingredients except for the basil. Chop about 1/4 cup of fresh basil leaves and use for garnish at the end.
    3. Drain pasta, reserving 1 cup of the cooking liquid.
    4. Add pasta to the bowl and toss to coat with the mixture. Use a little bit of the cooking liquid at a time to create a sauce. Finish off with the basil and a little fresh cracked pepper and viola! 5 ingredients! Delish. Also, if you want to add a few extra ingredients, this rocks with chicken or shrimp and some toasted pine nuts. If you like lemon, you won’t be disappointed!

    *Best cleaning product.
    Clorox’s new “Green Works” line is great.

    *Best coffee.
    Coffe Bean…only because they have many soy options for me.

    *Best city to travel to with young children.
    San Diego.

    *Best mascara.
    L’Oreal Volumizing Mascara – Waterproof/Black.

    *Best day trip to take in California.
    San Diego.
    Pasadena.
    Carlsbad Ranuncula Flower Farms.
    Paris.

    *Best dessert you have ever had and where Rachel we can find it.
    Flourless Chocolate Cake at Lucille’s BBQ-again, only because it has no flour so I can actually eat it. Very rich and very good though.

    *Best museum to visit (money=no object).
    Musee D’Orsay in Paris! Perfection.
    For local museums, my fave is the Norton Simon…see above!

    *Best unknown TV show to watch.
    Good Eats.

    *Best candy.
    Peanut Butter m&ms.

    *Best CD.
    Sorry, I can’t pick just one. There’s just no way!
    Bon Iver-For Emma, Long Ago.
    Amelie Soundtrack-one of my favorite things!
    Fiona Apple-Extraordinary Machine
    Rufus Wainwright-Poses
    Wilco-Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
    U2-Zooropa
    Rilo Kiley-More Adventures
    Bright Eyes-I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning
    Tom Petty’s Greatest Hits
    Trevor Hall-Lace Up Your Shoes
    Nick Drake-Five Leaves Left

    *Best quote.
    “If God has made you a bat, you shouldn’t try to be an ostrich.” from my favorite book, Demian by Hermann Hesse.

    *Best quality in a friend.
    Honesty. Second: Good communication skills.

    *Best biblical scripture for encouragement.
    “All things work together for the good in the name of the Lord, Jesus.”

    *Best joke.
    Q- How did Hitler tie his shoelaces?
    A- In little nazis!

    *Best cure-all remedy.
    Ginger for sicknesses and upset tummies. Lemon for household stuff.

  8. *Best hidden restaurant in your town (include town).
    Hideaway Pizza or Kang’s Sushi (Oklahoma City)

    *Best magazine and why you love it.
    Sierra Club–Packed with so much crazy information about the environment! Love it!

    *Best free resource in your area.
    The library, the squirt parks, the botanical gardens, or my backyard (Oklahoma City)
    *Best movie you have seen.

    *Best kid-friendly game (any kind will do).
    Tag!

    *Best baby product.
    G-diapers

    *Best cleaning product.
    Vinegar!

    *Best city to travel to with young children.
    Long Beach is a pretty good one! OKC isn’t bad either!

    *Best power drill (hey…I have dudes that read my site too).
    By far the Dewalt. We’ve gone through too many lesser quality drills to count. We splurged on the Dewalt and it has never failed us!

    *Best day trip to take in California.
    Drive up the coast. By far my favorite thing I ever did when I lived there.

    *Best museum to visit (money=no object).
    My husband would say the Louvre, hands down. I find it a bit overwhelming. Love the Prado museum in Madrid or the D’Orsay in Paris.

    *Best book of the bible to read when you sit down and can’t decide.
    Whatever the book falls open to.

    *Best candy.
    Hot Tamales

    *Best CD.
    Garth Brooks Double Album Live…every song is good!

    *Best quote.
    God sees the sacrifices we make each day, even if noone else does, and smiles on us.

    *Best quality in a friend.
    Loyalty

    *Best biblical scripture for encouragement.
    “For I, the Lord your God, hold your right hand; it is I who say to you, “Fear not I will help you.” Isaiah 41:13

    *Best joke.
    Why did the fly dance on top of the pickle jar? Because it said twist to open!

    *Best cure-all remedy.
    Lavender essential oil.

  9. Ter

    1. Best Hidden Restaruant:
    Silk Thai in Huntington Beach (Beach & Adams)
    You have to get the Crispy Rice!

    2. Best Free Resource
    The Library

    3. Best Movie
    Princess Bride or Sound of Music

    4. Best Recipe with 5 Ingredients or less
    Turkey Wraps
    a- Ground Turkey (seasoned with salt/pepper/red pepper flakes…ok this might make it more than 5!)
    b- Romaine Lettuce
    c- Chopped Peanuts
    d- Chopped Cilantro
    e- Chopped Green Onions

    5. Best Coffee
    Illy

    6. Best unknown TV show
    Fringe or Mentalist

  10. I hope you have a wonderful time! My favorite city and best vacation I’ve ever had was to Portland, OR and Cannon Beach. Beautiful, wonderful. Cant say enough good things about it.

  11. mandy

    *Best hidden restaurant in your town (include town).
    Blake’s Place (amazing BBQ) in anaheim… or maybe it’s considered yorba linda.
    Albertos drive thru mexican in fullerton. yum yum

    *Best magazine and why you love it.
    TIME- my only link to the real outside world

    *Best free resource in your area.
    arboretum in spokane is amazingly beautiful. i know there are some nice ones in so cal too
    Also, our community park here in spokane has a splash park. love it

    *Best movie you have seen.
    best kid movie i’ve seen (pretty much all i see these days) lately is Tale of Desperaoux. Been a long time since a movie encouraged young children to respect and strive for chivalry

    *Best kid-friendly game (any kind will do).
    cranium makes excellent pre-school games that are educational, engaging and a ton of fun!

    *Best website (let em’ fly)!
    starfall.com for preschoolers
    *Best baby product.
    Butt paste. swaddle blankets. nipple cream (for me not baby 🙂
    *Best homeschooling curriculum.
    ??
    *Best recipe with 5 ingredients or less.
    enchiladas or pulled pork (slow cooked)
    *Best money-saver website.
    craigslist or half.com
    *Best cleaning product.
    bleach?
    *Best coffee.
    ?
    *Best book on the history of the United States of America.
    ?
    *Best city to travel to with young children.
    Monterey bay, anaheim, orlando, fl.
    *Best power drill (hey…I have dudes that read my site too).
    ??
    *Best mascara.
    All natural organic mascara from Sephora

    *Best day trip to take in California.
    san diego, big sur

    *Best dessert you have ever had and where Rachel we can find it.
    pazookie from BJ’s

    *Best museum to visit (money=no object).
    ?? i wouldn’t consider any that i’ve been too the best so i don’t know!

    *Best unknown TV show to watch.
    beauty and the geek. oh wait- i think it was cancelled

    *Best book of the bible to read when you sit down and can’t decide.
    the gospels. amazing life changing/ historic story- learn something new every time

    *Best candy.
    sour patch kids

    *Best CD.
    RemedyDrive- daylight

    *Best quote.
    Not what we say about our blessings, but how we use them, is the true measure of our thanksgiving. -W.T. Purkiser

    *Best quality in a friend.
    honesty

    *Best biblical scripture for encouragement.
    phil 4:13

    *Best joke.
    how much did it cost the pirate to get this ears pierced?
    a buck-an-ear! ha!

    *Best cure-all remedy.
    boiling water will remove any type of berry/fruit stain (carpet, clothes, etc)

  12. OK – I’m finally doing this!!

    *Best hidden restaurant in your town (include town).
    Ames, IA: for Thai food: The Spice, for Mexican Food: El Azteca, for local cuisine: The Cafe, for Japanese food: Fuji

    *Best magazine and why you love it.
    Generally, I really like Yoga Journal and any of the popular one about making a home (Real Simple, Better Homes and Gardens, Mary Engelbreit’s Home Companion, Martha Stewart’s Living, etc.) but recently I discovered Marie and Somerset Studio. These are artsy magazines that focus a lot on altered art. I love them!

    *Best free resource in your area.
    Freecycle! I love this Yahoo! group and have gotten tons of great stuff from it!

    *Best movie you have seen.
    Recently, Star Trek. It was really good. Of all time, that’s a really hard pick, but I think for a movie most people have never even heard of, it would have to be Slipper and the Rose.

    *Best kid-friendly game (any kind will do).
    We love Wii boxing. Any age can do that.

    *Best website (let em’ fly)!
    There are entirely too many to name, but I think I would have to say Flickr and Google. I can find anything using Google. The Phoenix library’s website is pretty good. They have lot’s of audio and ebooks that are available to check out online. I also love The Pioneer Woman.

    *Best baby product.
    White Cloud lightly scented baby wipes. I love the feel and the smell (unused!). And I also really love pacifier tethers.

    *Best homeschooling curriculum.
    Don’t homeschool, but I was homeschooled when I was in Jr. High, and I loved that my mom used the scriptures as part of my cirriculum.

    *Best recipe with 5 ingredients or less.
    Frozen Pizza
    Just kidding… (not really)
    Poppy Seed Chicken
    Grilled Chicken Breast (I buy the prepackaged stuff in the refrigerated or frozen section.)
    1/2 stick melted butter
    8 oz sour cream
    1 can cream of chicken soup
    poppy seeds
    Mix everything together and pour into oven safe dish. Cover with crumbled up Ritz crackers and another 1/2 stick melted butter and more poppy seeds and bake 350F for 30 minutes.
    Serve over rice or pasta (I prefer pasta).
    (I think that was more than 5 ingredients.)

    Or another one:
    Bruschetta
    4-5 Roma tomatoes, small dices
    1 Tbs olive oil
    1-2 tsp balsamic vinegar
    small bunch of basil chiffonade
    Mix above ingredients together and set aside for ingredients to mesh.
    Cut a baguette into slices and toast. Cut the top off a garlic clove and rub the toast slices with it.
    Serve tomato mixture on top of toast.

    *Best money-saver website.
    Hmmm… I don’t have a good one.

    *Best cleaning product.
    I love love love love love Clorox cleaning wipes. I have a container of them in almost every room in my house.

    *Best coffee.
    I don’t actually drink coffee, but I love the smell!!

    *Best book on the history of the United States of America.
    This one isn’t about the history of the US as a whole, but rather about early New York City history. It’s called “The Women of the House.” It’s super good!

    *Best city to travel to with young children.
    We did Yellowstone with a 4 month-old once. It wasn’t so bad.

    *Best power drill (hey…I have dudes that read my site too).
    I only use Black and Decker

    *Best mascara.
    They discontinued it. It was by Revlon. Ever since then I have been trying different ones to find one as good.

    *Best day trip to take in California.
    I like Coronado Island

    *Best dessert you have ever had and where Rachel we can find it.
    For something cheap and easy – my absolutely favorite popsicles of all time are Bullet pops by Shamrock Farms. You can only get them in AZ. They’re amazing. I really miss them. I also really love cake batter ice cream from Cold Stone and fried ice cream from anywhere!

    *Best museum to visit (money=no object).
    I’ve only visited a few museums and none of the really super famous ones, but I really like the museum in Phoenix with all the Native American artifacts and the Church History Museum in Salt Lake City. On the second floor they always have some kind of art contest going on where people from all over the world have contributed items.

    *Best unknown TV show to watch.
    Phineas and Ferb. It’s not unknown, but it’s one that I recently discovered. (Yes, I have a 4 year-old.)

    *Best book of the bible to read when you sit down and can’t decide.
    I like Genesis. But usually, if I can’t decide I get out a book of Bible commentary. I really like reading other interpretations and really studying words and histories and traditions of the Old Testament.

    *Best candy.
    Cadbury Chocolate Easter Eggs and Happy Hippos or Kinder Bueno – it’s a German choclate, hazelnut, and wafer chocolate-bar type candy that is to die for! If I could get it locally, I would weigh 300 lbs.

    *Best CD.
    Anything Aerosmith. And I embarassingly admit that I really like the Twilight soundtrack.

    *Best quote.
    “A girl should be two things: classy and fabulous.” – Coco Chanel

    *Best quality in a friend.
    The ability to not judge, even when you may deserve it.

    *Best biblical scripture for encouragement.
    We will not be given anything we cannot handle (1 Cornithians 13:10).

    *Best joke.
    Guess what? Chicken Butt. Yeah, that one alwyas gets a laugh in my house.

    *Best cure-all remedy.
    Apple cider vinegar.

Leave a Reply

