I’m painting my living room orange.

Yup.  At least two walls.  

Sean and I weren’t 100% in love with the living room set up after spring cleaning and our walls get dirty QUICK because we have traditionally picked light colors for our house (and we burn candles like nobodies business).  No more.  We are painting most of the walls a taupe color (generally not my favorite, but we found one that is cool) and then accenting with orange on 2-3 of the walls.  We already have some leftover paint from other projects, so this “home renovation” is costing us next to nothing.  As we “speak”, my living room and dining room are pretty empty (Sean and I moved most of the furniture out to the garage during Miss K’s last nap) and I’m visualizing what my new living room will look like.  I “redecorate” my house all the time (meaning I move the furniture around), but this time it is a bit different.  We moved everything into the garage and are starting with a blank slate.  Our garage looks like a furniture store and with it all sitting there, so abstract, it leaves room for lots of improvement and possibilities.  We have collected lots of weird, eclectic and bizarre things.  It will be interesting to see what we end up doing.

When it comes to home decoration, my motto is “don’t think”.  I realized a long time ago that the more I think about things (when it comes to home decor), the more dissatisfied I get.  I respond quickly and work from my gut.  If I like it immediately, I go for it and if I have to think too long about something….i move on. The thought of orange came to me while on the couch the other night, staring at my cash register.  I love that color.  It’s happy and forgotten.  So, I’ll give it a try.  If it doesn’t work, than I will put the painters cap on, and give it another go. I should say that Sean is the mastermind behind all painting.  He’s good.  

This is what it looked like 3 hours ago:

 

img_5971

This is what it looks like now (minus everything but the lamp and couch).  No TV for us this week!!!

img_6537

The “furniture store”:

img_6560

The inspiration:

img_5479

 

We are doing the painting on Friday, so I should have an “after” sometime next weekend.  I’m pretty excited.  I love our house so much and it is my favorite place to be. What better than having a home that reflects the people living in it?  Right?  Wait….Sean and I reflect bizarre and orange???……

Yep.  Sounds right. 

A recession-proof “home makeover” comin’ your way soon!

13 Comments

Filed under furniture store, home makeover, my garage, orange is the new pink, recession proof, this and that....

13 responses to “I’m painting my living room orange.

  1. can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  2. can’t wait to see it! i’m the same way, i go from the gut!

  3. OK, so tell me you went to facebook and saw the orange wall in my new studio. and the other walls? putty – a taupeish grey. yes. huh.

  4. i love bold colors on the walls, i can’t wait till we buy a house & i have the freedom to experiment. ruby’s room is the only one with color, it’s BRIGHT aqua & i love it! can’t wait to see the after pics 😉

  5. Elma

    Oh I can’t wait to see it all finished:) I can never make up my mind on decorating:) I am allways changing things. Right now I am soooo confused about the top of my cupboards in the kitchen.If I leave them with nothing it just looks to blah and everything I put up looks ways to much. Maybe you should fly over and help me?? I need lotd of help.

  6. Kat

    I love moving my furniture around, Brian kinda laughs at how often I do it…but I love it. I have yet been able to paint my own walls, rentals don’t usually allow for that…so I will just live vicariously through you, ok? =o)

    Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  7. Can’t wait to see!

  8. Oh! I can’t wait to see!! and my favorite houses are the ones that DO genuinely reflect the sweet owners!!
    Blessings!

  9. I can’t wait to see the results.

  10. you should blog about going to people’s homes and helping them redo a room during these tough economic times – I think most people don’t understand how far some estate sale finds, a can a paint and some rearranging can transform a room.

    Just a though…

  11. Mary L

    I like Melissa’s idea above…you can start with my bedroom! 🙂 Can’t WAIT to see how it turns out in your living room!

  12. I totally can’t wait to see the finished product! Orange sounds fun, I totally see you as a bright, cheery person, so bright and cheery colors sound perfect to me.

    One of the things I’m looking forward to the MOST about getting married next year is finally having a place of our own to decorate. It’s gonna be so much fun! My head is already swimming with funky DIY projects.

  13. I love that you move your stuff around. I’m not brave enough. Can’t wait to see the end result. But really? No TV for a week! What are you mad?! 😉

Leave a Reply

