a snapshot weekend.

I decided this is what I am going to do on the weekends.  Sum it up in fewer words, more pictures.  

Miss K is officially running and pretty excited about it.

img_64491

 

img_6476

We spent time with friends at several different things, which is pretty much our favorite thing to do.  I like people.  All kinds of people.  Don’t you?  Wait….my husband just told me not to ask that.  He said that most people don’t like everyone like me.  Scratch that.  Let’s just leave it at “I like people.”

img_6460

 

img_64581

img_6454

img_6451

img_6461

I got a butcher block this weekend.  My childhood friend, Katy had one growing up.  Her mom, Sandi would cook dinner all the time and then set it on the block.  We would all walk in the kitchen and fill our plates from the goods on that butcher block.  So, when I heard that one of my friends was getting rid of hers, my heart skipped a little beat.  I don’t think I have EVER been this excited about a piece of furniture arriving in our house. It’s a piece of the past and  I hope that many conversations, memories and happy days, are celebrated around it.  

img_64801

 

img_6482

*If you have any advice on how to treat a weathered block, please let me know.  It has cracks and wear and needs to be oiled.  Give me input if you have it.

Last picture.

 This is all I see lately.  My child wants to be outside all the time.  

img_64421

 

Hope your weekend was great.  Enjoy the few remaining days of April.

12 Comments

Filed under April days, baby gate, BBQ with friends, butcher block, hotdogs and hamburgers, Kensington is running, Uncategorized

12 responses to “a snapshot weekend.

  1. Can that dress and leggings get any cuter?!?!?

  2. looks like a great weekend! love the pics 🙂

  3. I have a relative who used to have a great Butcher Block. This video pretty much sums up how she would care for hers.
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/videos/butcher-block/1472.html

  4. Also, because wood is so porous, it’s not exactly ideal for cutting raw meat. Hard plastic cutting boards are easier to thoroughly sanitize, but the butcher’s blocks are great for just about everything else. Personally, I wouldn’t want bleach or anything seeping through the cracks and into my food after sanitization. When oiling, I think you’re supposed to use mineral oil, allow to sit for at least 15 minutes, then wipe clean. If you don’t plan on preparing food on it and just want to use it as a piece of furniture, you could use any furniture polish. Have fun!

  5. Kat

    Chloe has that same dress with long sleeves…I love it!

  6. I recently sanded and oiled a cutting board. What I read said to use mineral oil or walnut oil.

  7. Love the pic of Miss K running around! So cute!!!

  8. I’ve heard mineral and walnut oil too…But I’ve also heard olive oil works great!

  9. I love your new butcher block!

    And I’m with your husband – crowds of people make me a little weirded out. I always admire you “people person” types.

  10. I’ve always wanted a butcher block table like that. It’s hard to tell how bad it is, the top looks like it is in fairly good shape. So, sand or scrape, fill the cracks with cellulose wood filler then oil with mineral oil. You will want to oil it about once a month, depending on how dry it gets there, maybe a little more often during the dryer months.

  11. oh i just love this precious post…a lovely weekend indeed and what a fabulous butcher block…and full of memories of your childhood and more to be made for the little misses!!

  12. I love your butcher block! It’s beautiful. I hope you make many family memories with it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

