Chim Chiminy, Chim Chiminy, Chim Chim Chiree….

mary-poppins1

 

People, 

YOU.HAVE.NO.IDEA…

How excited I am.

As many (if not all) of you know, I have a mini-love affair with the movie (and books) Mary Poppins (hello….CHERRY TREE LANE….).  I just love it.  Whimsical, fanciful, happy and sweeter than apple pie.

When I was in NYC about 3 years ago, I saw Mary Poppins on Broadway.  It was amazing and I loved every minute of it. I knew when I saw it that they would have to bring it to LA and swore that I would get good seats when they did.  I swore this because my friends and I sat in the worst possible seats in the New Amsterdam theatre.  

Today I got a call that they had opened online sales and I was in a FRENZY.  I called the peeps and made it happen.

VOILA! 

We are headed to LA on November 28th to see MARY POPPINS!  We got great seats too.  HAPPY THANKSGIVING TO ME!

I am beside myself.  

And, for all of you that think this is just plain silly, for a woman of my age to be THIS excited…

Well…..

I have no rebuttal at all.

15 Comments

Filed under Ahmanson Theatre, Broadway musical, Gavin Lee, Happy Thanksgiving, Mary Poppins, NYC, Spoonful of Sugar, Theatre, Uncategorized

15 responses to “Chim Chiminy, Chim Chiminy, Chim Chim Chiree….

  1. noelle

    I’m so excited! Where did you buy your tickets? I didn’t see them on ticketmaster – I just saw NY, IL, TX & AZ.

  2. I think that’s awesome! That would be so much fun to go see.

  3. How fun is that!!! We just watched the movie on ABCFamily this weekend:)

  4. Not silly at all! I hope you have a blast. I love theatre and am always grateful that Grand Forks has an active community theatre… but I must say I’m a bit jealous of those in larger cities for just this reason.

  5. I would so be singing and dancing right alongside you if I could! ALL TIME FAVORITE! THat is awesome!!!!

  6. I am ridiculously excited for you. I also saw it on Broadway (my 7 year old’s first play – she loved it, too) and it was AWESOME. My sister-in-law is a prof dancer and danced with Mary Poppins in the Disney Christmas Parade. She got to do Supercal – which made me insanely jealous.
    Have a ball! Also, enjoy the anticipation of a 7 month wait!

  7. Is it sold out? I want to take A…how fun! I’ll meet ya there 🙂

  8. I think we are going to take Rebekah as a Christmas gift. 🙂

  9. No one is EVER too old for Marry Poppins. Seriously.

  10. Oh, I wish I was still living in Southern Cal. I would SOOO be there with my parrot umbrella in hand. (I did buy one, just as you suggested.) I still dream about the different scenes in the production. How fun!

  11. Here’s a little-known fact about me: I’m a HUGE nerd for musical theater. HUGE! My fiance makes fun of me for it, and he’s not the only one. This sounds like so much fun! Mary Poppins has always been one of my favorite Disney movies and every once in awhile I’ll break out into song about kites or laughing. Fun times.

  12. That’s going to be soooo much fun, I’d be that excited too, tee hee! No rebuttal needed 😉

    Jamie 🙂

  13. Dad

    She was always one of my favorites…..I always thought she was the best looking and best actress of all times….Julie Andrews I meant:):)

  14. gina garland

    Whoooooo Hoooooooo!!!!

  15. LL

    That is awesome! I am fairly new to your blog and didn’t think about the title until last weekend I found MP while channel surfing and stopped to watch – because who doesn’t love that movie? When the moment came I had to laugh & thought “how brilliant!”. No doubt you’ll have a wonderful time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

