little bits and pieces

**My friend Joanne, wrote a book!  And it is here!  MISPLACING GOD (and finding Him again) looks like it is REALLY going to be great–I started it this morning!  I will let you know more about it when I am in it deeper.  GREAT JOB JOANNE!

photo-6

– – – – — – – – – – – – – – – 

**My husband has been teaching Sunday school for our high schoolers at church for almost 4 years.  With a few exceptions, he has taught each week, during the second service.  Although a difficult choice, Sean decided to step down from that ministry. This past Sunday  he was thanked by the students at HOT OFF THE GRILL!  (What says high school quite like greasy food?!).  They bought him a soccer ball (appropriate) and each signed it.  It has a picture in the middle of all the kids and Sean at winter camp.  Too cool. 

img_6113

Sean,  I admire your commitment to the students and appreciate how consistent you were, week in and week out.  It’s not common these days to find someone like you to work in ministry and I am proud of you.  I know that God used you to reach out to the students.  I look forward to seeing where else the Lord will use you at our church.  

– – – – – – – – – – – – – –

**I am learning how much people value honesty.  I find that the more I open up to others, the more they open up to me and the more that the Lord is able to work in a relationship. So….how about a little honesty?  

Let’s see…..ok…..

At the same time I was being hired as the children’s director at our church (about 6 years ago), I was applying to several Masters Programs and also several seminaries.  I was accepted to several of each (And denied as well), but decided to pursue my career at ShoreLife.  While I don’t regret my last 6 years as a children’s director, I do often wonder what would have happened in my “professional career” had I pursued my education in that way.  The line of work that I wanted to go into, intrigues me and I think about it often…wondering if 1.) I would have been any good at it 2.)would even be pursuing it HAD I gone to school and 3.) I would have enjoyed it as much as I think I would.

So there you go.  If that isnt good enough……well…..how about this………

*I hate washing my hair.  I hate it I hate it I hate it and will avoid it by pulling it back and calling it a “hairstyle”, putting baby powder in it to soak up the grease, wearing a hat or using a headband.  Sick, i know…

*I want to be a super-spy.

*I wish I had skinny legs and I have come to grips with no matter HOW much I work out….I won’t.  And it’s ok.  Really.  I’m ok with it…….(weeping quietly…..)

12 Comments

Filed under baby powder, hair washing, misplacing God, Sean, skinny legs, this and that...., washing my hair stinks

12 responses to “little bits and pieces

  1. Okay, so forget my email question about “are you reading it…” I see now that you are reading Joanne’s book.

  2. First, thank you for the sweet compliment in my comments!

    Second, you have guts girl! There is no way I could confess some of the things you do. I’m a wimp. 😉

    If you want to go back to school there are a lot of Universities offering online courses that are identical to their in-class offerings. You could always pursue it again when you are ready.

    About 6 years ago, I went back to school to finish my degree. Sometimes I think it was ridiculous because I was a computer programmer, and I finished my degree in CompSci, so I could be a computer programmer. The thing is I did it for me, I knew what I could do. I already had the job and excelled at it, but I wanted the piece of paper for me. I’m sure I’d be farther ahead now if I hadn’t taken the time to go back to school, but I try not to think about it. I did what I needed to do at the time. I do want a more flexible job when I have children, so I’ll address that when the time comes.

  3. It’s ok, skinny legs are over-rated anyway.

    It’s nice to meet you by the way! Your blog is an awesome read.

  4. Oh yes, the path not taken. It’s so mysterious isn’t it?

    I can’t relate to the hair washing thing. I love to wash mine and have to restrain myself to every other day so I don’t dry it out. The never having skinny legs thing I get though. I try to tell myself that “pear” is healthier than “apple”. It doesn’t help much during shorts season!

  5. You’re so sweet…thanks! And I LOVE your pink sponge-y curlers!

  6. Haha! That picture was great! Looks like a good book!

    I hate washing my hair too!!!!!

  7. Kat

    So I wish I would have had a hat..or known how to do the baby powder trick the other day when I had no hot water. As Beth Moore so eliquentlys aid about her water not working in the study I just finished “Somedays I can do yesterdays hair. Today was NOT THE DAY FOR YESTERDAYS HAIR!” Next time I have a hair dilema, I will call you =o)

  8. I’m with you on the hair thing – I wish I had hair that was truly “wash ‘n go” Alas, it is not.

  9. Okay…same thoughts here. I was studying to be an elementary school teacher when I got pregnant with my 1st. I come from a family of teachers so I’m always thinking about what would have been. Although, I have to keep in mind that a SAHM is the hardest and most rewarding job I will ever have.
    As far as the hair thing goes…my hair is simply wash n go when it’s long it waves the perfect way. Ohhh but how I hate having long hair because it always ends up pulled into a ponytail. I’m in for it because I’m growing to donte.

  10. hello my sweet! I went back for my masters degree when my daughter was 8 and I was 34!! it was the best decision ever! I’m just curious, in what area where you looking to get your masters degree??

  11. shanna

    I hate washing my hair too! But, alas, while your hair, even “dirty”, ALWAYS looks so cute and stylish, mine would just be sick. 😉

  12. if it makes you feel any better, i have a masters degree that is just sitting there, unused. =)

    and i am okay with that.

    thanks for commenting! i appreciate it so much.

Leave a Reply

