Confession.

I have a small obsession.

With clothes.

Some people will, undoubtedly, call this "shallow", "materialistic", "of the world", "evil", "surface natured" etcetcetc.
I have heard it all.  Trust me.  I truly think that it makes other people feel comfortable to judge someone that enjoys clothing.  Afterall….you can't be a Christian and like clothes! That would mean you're shallow, right?!?  "She must be one of those "evangelicals!"
The thing is…I don't feel bad about it.
You see….
I don't let clothes define me. (although I do think that they attribute to my representation of myself)
I don't buy them to make myself feel better about myself.
I don't put us into debt to buy them.
I don't buy them because my parents didn't love me.
I don't love them because I am empty on the inside.
I don't rank their importance ahead of what rightfully should take first place in my life.
I don't put them ahead of my relationships.
And I kinda feel silly that I am putting a disclaimer at all about my obsession with them, but it seems that I have caught slack in the past for enjoying clothing and cultivating my own style and it makes me laugh.
 
I just love them as a "thing".  Like some people like strolls on a beach, a good book, coffee in the morning, a basketball game.
I like clothes.  Their color, texture, combinations with one another.  The way that they can smell and feel.  The way that some preserve over time and just get better.
Anyways.  
I'm not in the station at life in which I can throw away (like I once did) 500 bucks on a sweater or purse. It wouldn't make sense now, and would never make sense to some in ANY circumstance.  That's ok.  I understand that some people think there is NEVER a time someone should pay that.  I get that.  Just like I don't think there is ever a time to pay 25 bucks a week on a Starbucks addiction or a mani/pedi…..but some people do it. And that is their "thing".  
All I'm saying is that I appreciate clothing and what people do with it.  I'm not going to lie.  And if you think I'm shallow…..it's alright.  
You clearly are more mature than I. 
And for those of you that enjoy some fashion in the off-moments of your life……
Here is my all-time favorite fashion commentary (mostly in pictures).  I have loved this site for years.
8 Comments

Filed under fashion, obsession, The sartorialist

8 responses to “Confession.

  1. I LOVE The Sartorialist! And I happen to think that you and your clothes were adorable when I met you. So there!

  2. YOU MAKE ME CHUCKLE, RACHEL
    I AM HAPPY THAT YOU LOVE CLOTHES AND FROM WHAT WE HAVE EXCHANGED IN PERSONAL FEELINGS ABOUT THINGS… IF THAT IS HOW SOME DEFINE YOU, I AM SO SORRY FOR THEM BECAUSE THEY HAVE TOTALLY MISSED THE DEPTHS OF WHAT YOU ARE ALL ABOUT.
    YOU JUST KEEP LOOKING PRETTY, ENJOYING YOUR CLOTHES AND KEEP YOUR EYES ON GOD…THE WAY YOU HAVE AND WILL CONTINUE TO DO…..DON’T SWEAT THE SMALL THINGS….PEOPLE FORGET THAT WE ARE SUPPOSE TO NOT ENVY WHAT OUR NEIGHBORS HAVE.
    YOU HAVE NOTHING TO APOLOGIZE ABOUT, SWEET GIRL.
    HUGS
    LOVE
    debbie

  3. Is it just me or does the guy in the skinny pants on that website look slightly unsure of his style?!
    Got birthday money from my mom to go SHOPPING together and I just can’t wait!
    J.

  4. I DO love clothes, too! Although lately I have quashed my affection for buying new and have worked hard to make the old “seem” new. You know?
    Have a blessed and beautiful St. Patrick’s Day!
    Holly

  5. You’re just in the wrong church. You need to go to the kind where people believe you need to dress up for the Lord as a sign of honor and respect.
    And to show the ladies in the rows behind you that you’ve got it going on. 😉
    No, seriously – don’t apologize. We all have our “things.” Some take pride in their baking or crafting or decorating or hair. Some take pride in their lack of pride! We’re all human doggone it.

  6. You and me both, Rachel! Clothes are happy! And that does not make us shallow in the least. 🙂

  7. Me too!! And the church I go to is full of others like us 🙂

  8. Kat

    My Serena, like you, adores clothes. I remember as a kid throwing the boxes filled with clothes aside on my birthday to make room for the toys. Not Serena, she remembers who gave her each item of clothing even. She loves getting new clothes, and is very particular about what she wears. I mean at age 2 she would argue with me about what she wore. Chloe could care less, in fact she’d rather be naked, but I digress. I have learned that if Serena says she is not wearing it, then I might as well give up and put it in the hand me down pile, because she won’t wear it, now matter how “cute” I say she looks in it. The other day, as we were getting ready for school, Serena looked at me and said “why don’t you just wear your jammies?” And I looked at her (realizing she had no idea what she had just said) and said “You really want your friends to see your mom walk you to school in jammies?” She replied with a nervous “oops” kinda laugh and said, “You’re right. Get dressed.”
    No wonder she’s always liked Mrs. Rachel ;o)

Leave a Reply

