Sunday Song.

 Most Sundays I wake up and am so happy that I get to go to church (what a privilege in our country)….
and then there are Sundays, like this morning, where I did not WANT to go to church…..
THOSE are the mornings when I need to go the most.  

To be stretched.
To be reminded.
To rejoice with fellow worshippers.
To worship.
To learn.
To bow at the cross of the Lord.
To be challenged.
To serve.
To live outside myself.
To fall more in love with Christ.
To face my own selfishness.
To follow His command.
To give God the rightful place in my life.  First every morning.  First in my priority list.  First in my heart.

This Sunday I was hurt, angry, frustrated, lonely and sad.

And then I heard the following song and realized that It TRULY IS well with my soul. My problems are but a moments frustration and my heart is called to rejoice in the Lord and His goodness.  How can I be silent about this?  I cannot. 

The man who penned this hymn underwent the tradgey of not only being ruined financially in the Chicago fire of 1871, but shortly after, losing both his daughters in a boat collision.

And yet….

He was stretched.
He was reminded.
He rejoiced.
He lived outside himself and gave God the rightful place in his life.  
It was well with his soul.

Oh, to be such a believer.


It Is Well With My Soul

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Refrain

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

Refrain

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

Refrain

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.

Refrain

But, Lord, ‘tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait,
The sky, not the grave, is our goal;
Oh trump of the angel! Oh voice of the Lord!
Blessèd hope, blessèd rest of my soul!

Refrain

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

Refrain


4 Comments

Filed under hymn, It Is Well With My Soul, Sunday Song

4 responses to “Sunday Song.

  1. Rachel-
    You’re right on. Those are the days you need to go.
    Do you have a local MOPS group where you live? It’s been so helpful to me to be with other women of faith that are in the same season of life as you.
    Blessings to you!

  2. What a great hymn…and what a great story to go with it. I love the classic hymns of the faith and have a book of them in my livingroom! It’s a good memory for me when I rocked my babies, I tried each time to sing at least one hymn to them.

  3. What a beautiful hymn, I’ve never heard that one before…
    I know what you mean about going when you don’t feel like it – those are the weeks I think we need church the most!

  4. Oh I love hymns. I didn’t appreciate them enough when I was younger. They are so rich with meaning.
    Now I feel bad for ditching church yesterday!

Leave a Reply

