a peek inside.

This actually was perfect timing.
I have had some emails lately asking what my house looks like on the inside etc. and so when my sister in law, Melissa, came over with her fancy camera last week I was excited!  She took some photos for a post on her blog and then I cleverly asked if I could steal borrow them for my blog.

You see, I could take the EXACT same picture of my house and it just wouldn't look as good.  She's got the knack for photography and I like to take advantage graciously borrow her photography skills anytime she offers.  Take a hop and skip over to her blog. You really should.

In the meantime, here is a glimpse of my humble abode.  It is my very favorite place in the world.  Our little nest.  Some say it is a mish mosh of design "looks".  (Someone actually DID call it a mish-mosh one time.  Super Awesome.)  I like to call it eclectic and act like I "meant" for it to look this way. 
When really….most of it was just free on the side of the street.

And PS–if anyone can tell me (sans friends and family) where my umbrella came from, you will get a gold star.

DSC_0119

DSC_0075

DSC_0078

DSC_0079

DSC_0083

DSC_0101

DSC_0106

DSC_0100

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “a peek inside.

  1. eva

    amazing house. it looks a truly welcoming home. you sure have an eye for details.
    did you do it together with your husband or are you the main decorator? i feel taking care of our home to make it a warm place is such a bonding experience for us.
    the photos tell much about you. do you sew or embroider? write? do you play the piano? i can’t carry a tune, but i wish i could, i feel music provides me with a close connection to God, so i try to sing, mindfully, even though it doesen’t sound nice.
    it’s amazing what beautiful things people throw away to be found on the street! it’s true beauty is in the eye of the beholder and i can see you are really open to beauty in your life.
    i was wondering about all the small objects in your photos and how you prevent Kensington from putting them in her mouth. is she such an obedient little girl or do you keep them out of her reach?

  2. CUTE. Like you, of course!

  3. You house is amazing, I lovelovelove it!! I love the different styles and colors and textures, it’s fantastic! Share some decorating techniques, please?!

  4. From when you went to go see “Mary Poppins” of course!

  5. Thank you for the blog lovin – you should have a guest column on my blog 🙂
    Anytime you want more photos of your home, let me know!

  6. I love how warm and cozy your house seems!
    It definitely looks like a Mary Poppins umbrella.

  7. 🙂 Your house is one of my favorite places too. You are gifted in so many ways and I admire your ability to make things beautiful! 🙂 I wish my desk/ craft area looked like yours. I think you might have infpired me to take on a project of decluttering today. 🙂 My craft desk thanks you.

  8. Love, love, love your house!! It looks so cozy and cute! 🙂 xoxox

  9. Kat

    You are a fan of barefoot too I see!
    So I guess I am out for guessing your umbrella…you don’t happen to have her purple shoes too, do you?

  10. I like the thread the best!

  11. It looks warm and interesting and just exudes coziness and love. I’m so happy for you! I’ll be dipped if I could see an umbrella anywhere, tho. I looked and looked!

  12. Okay, I see it now. But I can’t guess where it came from. 🙂

  13. Girl you have style! Love all the little details. That piano is sooo sweet. For my mac and cheese I use Mary Engl. recipe in her cookbook. Let me know if you want it…it is yummy. cherry

  14. It looks very warm and welcoming…LOVE the collection f corks and bottle caps! I have a huge collection of vintage swizzle sticks….I look to see funky and eclectic things displayed!
    Thanks for your visit and your sweet comment on my blog!
    Blessings.,
    Robin

  15. Oh what a homey and pretty house you have Rachel! Thanks so much for sharing- have a happy Valentines Day with your sweet little family.

  16. Hey !i just noticed your black hooked rug– I’ve been looking for something like that, can you tell me where you found it? Thanks!

  17. Liz

    Lovely vintage items!

Leave a Reply

