the day after….is it too late?

I didn't sleep well last night and got up early this morning.  While I was distracted most of the day yesterday by the media hysteria of the Inauguration…last night I laid in bed thinking of George W Bush and the end days of his presidency.

I feel like I heard so many opinions yesterday.  I heard my friends, my families and the news.  I read and read and emailed.  I heard SO MANY people's thoughts.

The one thing that resonated the most was people's outright hatred for George W Bush. 

When I layed in bed last night and then again this morning, I thought, "What do I think"? 

This is what I think:
*I think that it is very difficult to be a president and even more so to be one in war time. 
*I think that I have no idea the pressure, constant ridicule and angst that must be involved with leading our powerful nation. 
*I think that George W Bush did many things for our country that went unnoticed because he was "unpopular".  There are lists of humanitarian efforts that he pioneered or supported that never are reviewed or spoke of. 
*I think that we live in a day where the news shapes peoples opinions rather than them reading and deciding for themselves.
*I think it is very easy for us to sit around and issue our negative remarks without fear of consequences.  Oh, how I have heard so many people easily let negetive remarks come from their mouth concerning Mr Bush….yet so few of these poeple had anything to say when President Clinton was unfaithful to his wife or reversed bans on partial birth abortion in 1996 and 1997.
*I think that I am thankful for a president that values innocent life. 
*I am thankful for a man that was faithful to his wife. 
*I am thankful for a man that has been teased, held to the fire, unfairly insulted and has still remained kind, without verbal retaliation.
*I think that it is my Christian responsibility to respect the president and government, even if I disagree because that is what the Lord has given us.  That respect doesn't include me sitting around talking about how "worthless" he is and how I "cant wait to get him out of office".  (Romans 12:8)
*I think that President Bush made his choices out of pure motives.

Do I agree with everything President Bush has done?  Certainly not.  Do I think he is a sinner like all?  Yes.  The difference is that I am not going to usher him out of office with malice in my heart, thinking I know better.

I think that I am grateful for President Bush and his terms.  I am grateful for his faith and like he said in his address once he returned home to Texas yesterday–the fact that he held to his values.  He can look at himself in the mirror today.

My simple prayer is that President Obama will not be shaped by those around him, but by convictions and ideals that are pure and right….provided by the Lord.  This is my prayer for each president.

So, thank you President Bush.  Admist the sea of haters,
 I see the good and safety you provided for our country.

12 Comments

Filed under politics

12 responses to “the day after….is it too late?

  1. Stacy

    THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! Very well said! Danny and I were just talking about this last night and unfortunately so many people don’t agree. Why the hatred? People only focus on what they want to focus on and if they don’t like the man, they will only focus on the negative. It really is a shame.

  2. Jennifer

    I have to also agree, people have let the media shape what they think of Bush I dont agree with everything he has done but I have tremendous respect for him and wish only the best for him

  3. Kat

    Like my government teacher told us senior year, people often vote (and voice thier opinion) based on thier wallet. Clinton is viewed as a “good” president because our wallets were fat during his term in office. Bush left with our wallets thinning, and unfortunately that took a tole on his legacy.

  4. Nicely said. Thank you for putting it out there!

  5. DEAR RACHEL,
    AMEN SISTER! THAT WAS PUT SO VERY RIGHT AND JUST…..GOD BLESS THE BUSHES…I AM NORMALLY A VERY WORDY PERSON BUT YOU SAID IT ALL…BEAUTIFULLY.
    I AM GIVING YOU A STANDING OVATION…I PRAY IN GOD WE TRUST IS NOT TAKEN OUT OF AMERICA AND HE SURROUNDS THE BUSHES WITH PEOPLE THAT LOVE THEM AND HE LIVES LONG ENOUGH TO SEE THE WORLD BE KIND TO HIM….AND PRAY FOR PRESIDENT OBAMA.
    I AM NEW TO THE BLOGGING WORLD BUT I JUST MET ONE AWESOME WOMAN, RACHEL AND I AM GOING TO ADD YOUR BLOG TO MY LIST.
    YOU HAVE A GIFT.
    debbie

  6. Mandy

    Rachel-
    I LOVE this and completely agree!!! You hit the nail right on the head! Thank you so much for sharing!
    Mandy

  7. Rachel, you have no idea how refreshing it is to read this pos of yours!!! GOOD FOR YOU! I completely agree, 100%!! πŸ™‚ I think it is so awful for all these “Bush haters” to be counting down the seconds until he was out of office… I really find it offensive to treat the leader of our country like that!! There is a level of respect that needs to be maintained, and so many people croseed the line with their insults during the past 8 years. Do I agree with Obama politically? NO! BUT… I will treat him with respect and honor him as my President, unlike the Democrats did with Bush!! AH, makes me so mad! Thanks for posting this, I just loved it!!! πŸ™‚ xoxox

  8. Amen!! Great post. I believe that the decisions Bush made were with more information than any of us can even fathom… we may never know why he did certain things, but we do know that there hasn’t been any attacks in the US since 9/11. I’m proud of him for being an honest man with integrity till the very end.
    http://elislids.blogspot.com/

  9. OH THANK YOU! My heart was going out to “W” who I believe thought he was doing the right thing, and we will never know the “what if” that would be his fault too. I will support our new president because his job is to protect our country I hope he is as successful as President Bush.
    Happy to find your blog I’ll stop by again, Take care.
    Kelley

  10. I couldn’t agree more! Wonderful post. It is so easy to sit on the sidelines and criticize, isn’t it? Thank you for writing this. πŸ™‚

  11. Amazing post Rachel! I definitely agree. Thanks for putting it out there.
    PS – thanks for the comment on my blog on the pincushion! I literally made it in less than 1/2 an hour. Give it a try!!

  12. Michelle

    AMEN – as you know, we are already on the same page!
    He is aman of conviction and principle – that is enough.

Leave a Reply

