what’s old….is new again!

My mom gave me this silver awhile back (was passed down from family) and it has been sitting in my cupboards.  I was looking at it the other day and thought, "why don't I use this?  It is a treasure and BEAUTIFUL and is just sitting there.". 
IMG_3834  
I was at the grocery this morning and if any of  you know me, I am a sucker for anything that is vintage (namely from the 1940's-1950's) or that looks remotely vintage-ish (doesn't this bottle look like it belongs in June Cleavers kitchen?!?).  I found this silver polish called BRITE BOY and since I have saved so much with coupons this morning, I had a little extra to pick it up!  
IMG_3833
I brought it home, pulled out my silver and polished a few pieces.  AMAZING the difference.  I was so happy while doing it.  Like bringing something back to life.  I could have polished so much so there is no tarnish at all, but I kinda like a little around the fluer de lis detail, as it accentuates it.
IMG_3835
IMG_3836
IMG_3837
IMG_3838
I have enough for a full 16 dinner service, serving pieces, tea spoons and more.  It was such a special treat.  We will be using it with dinner tonight!  
3 Comments

Filed under this and that....

3 responses to “what’s old….is new again!

  1. Kent Strawsburg

    That is absolutely awesome…..from one generation to another generation and to another generation….when you are old it will go to Kensington…..isn’t that a trip!! Glad it turned out so beautiful!!
    Dad

  2. Wow, what a difference June 😉
    I’m still laughing at that pic of your daughter below, hehe…too cute!

  3. GRANDMA

    RACH…THIS REALLY MAKES ME HAPPY AND GRANDMA STRAWSBURG IS SMILING DOWN AT YOU WITH JOY. IM SURE THIS WAS A WEDDING PRESENT….AND ONE OF THE MOST TREASURED. THIS SILVER WAS ACTUALLY GOING TO BE LEFT BEHIND. LOVE MOM

Leave a Reply

