only a few days left

My blog is not political, and I'm not going to make it political.  Occasionally I will post about us watching a debate (see tomorrow's post) or some fun election t-shirt we wear, but my blog is not intended to share with you my personal political beliefs or for me to try and convince you why my candidate is the more "qualified" one.

However.

Lately, I have heard so many people say "I'm not voting" or "This election is a joke".

While I, at times hate the political atmosphere, I think that we would do good to remember and acknowledge how very blessed we are to live in a country where democracy is a cornerstone and we are able to vote.  Nothing irritates me more than people who complain all the time about how the government does nothing for them and they aren't taken care of or they "hate the current administration", but the DIDN'T BOTHER TO VOTE or even educate themselves.

Of course it would be great if one candidate could pacify all of the needs we have as a country, but I agree that people who don't vote or take the time to learn about the candidates has no right to complain or gripe when someone they didn't care for makes it into office (or a proposition is passed they didn't agree with).

You have a few days left to register, so fulfill your CIVIC RESPONSIBILITY and vote. 

Hey–take your kids with you.  Make it a learning tool for them. Teach them about the great country we live in.

5 Comments

Filed under politics

5 responses to “only a few days left

  1. DONT TELL ME WHAT TO DO WITH MY KIDS! Man! I wish I lived in a country without free speech. Its all bushs fault. That and the economy. And my looks. And the fact that I didnt graduate school and dont show up to work on time. Stupid government.

  2. I’m hoping that comment above me is some kind of a joke.
    I am very torn about this election, while usually I know exactly who will be “my” candidate. I am registered to vote, and I will vote. If I had children I would definitely take them with me to see democracy in action, even though they’d probably drive me crazy while I was voting!
    Great post!

  3. GRANDMA

    ITS ALL ABOUT INTEGRITY…..EVERY CHOICE, EVERYTHING.

  4. Dana

    AMEN RACH! Well said and I can’t encourage enough to go and register to allow your voice to be heard!

  5. Kat Alvarado

    I always tell people I don’t want to hear you complain if you didn’t vote. You HAD your chance to voice your opinion and chose not to..so …you’re bad. I used to take Serena with me to vote(now she’s in school when I go), and took Chloe the last time. They love it, all the elderly people fawn over them and they get “I voted” stickers too =o)

Leave a Reply

