a new chapter

While my brain has "known" that I am resigning from my job for quite some time….I think that my heart is just now catching on. 

Yes, I am excited to embark on a new time in my life and the life of our family. 
Yes, I am absolutely thrilled to have more time and energy to spend on Kensington and Sean and cultivating important traditions, moments and memories with them. 
Yes, I know this is the right choice for our family–one that was prayed and thought about and not taken lightly.
Yes, I look forward to not having to go into work and not having my mind pre-occupied like it has been.

But….

I am also honest when I say that I am very sad. 

Yes, I will miss my job immensely.
Yes, losing something this close to my heart is very difficult, if I am honest.
Yes, I have admitted to myself that I feel I am giving up one of the most important things in my life.
Yes, it was the most difficult choices I (we) have ever made.

The choice to step down and become a stay at home mom is one of the most difficult choices I have ever made.  My heart hurts as I leave my position at ShoreLife and will no longer be connected in that way, to the kids there. 

But…..

I know that it is the choice that God has for us.
I am so very peaceful (albeit a little sad to leave a job i love) about this choice. I look forward to this time in my life more than I have ever looked forward to another season.
My days can be filled with  Kensington and I going outside and playing in the garden.  Splashing water from the hose.  Walking in the park.  Reading a book for however long we want.  Making a fun craft together.  Cooking dinner for my family.  Sitting on the floor and doing nothing but playing together…..

So, each time I think about the wonderful gift of time I am being given, my sadness fades just a little bit, and gratefulness replaces it.  I am so happy that I have this time…..

This time, right now, is a blessing.
A new chapter.

4 Comments

Filed under All in the family

4 responses to “a new chapter

  1. Dana

    Rach, This is an awesome post. I am sure you were torn in your choice…but what a great thing to have the opportunity to have this time with your family. Very cool and I can’t wait to read all about the “stay at home adventures!”

  2. Patti

    You’ve said it much more eloquently that I could, but I’m right there with ya, sister.

  3. Shanna

    You are never going to regret it! We’ll have such fun playdates. =)

  4. Michelle

    The Lord will forever reward your faithfulness for your obedience to Him.

Leave a Reply

