You live your life the way you live your days.

I think that if we are all honest, we rush through our days with our eyes on something beyond the current moment.  We are always thinking to the next house, the next job, the next conversation, even the next day.  It seems to me that sometimes we (I) am living today, for tomorrow. 

Isn't that backwards?  Obviously!

We all do it though. 

When I saw the quote, "You live your life the way you live your days", it was like a little firework went off in my head.  I DO NOT WANT to look back on my life in 5, 10, 15 years and say, "Rachel…you were always looking for the next  ___________." You spent your days preparing for the next, NOT living in the moment or spending your day on things fruitful and important.  You spent your days planning for the next, rather than enjoying the one God gave you."

So, today (and I'm hopeing each day going forward) I will stop and realize that I am LIVING my life.  NOT planning for the life I "want".  This IS life.  I'm in it.  Right in the middle.  NOT looking forward, not wanting what is down the road…just living. 

4 Comments

Filed under this and that....

4 responses to “You live your life the way you live your days.

  1. emily

    such a great reminder. In the same way we plan for tomorrow today we also worry about tomorrow today. Thanks for the little reminder to live for what God has given us this moment! CARPE DIEM!

  2. shanna

    So true- especially when you have little ones. You never get those years back and they fly by! I’m so afraid I’m going to forget or have already forgotten all those cute little things.

  3. One of my favorite quotes is from Ralph Waldo Emerson: We are always getting ready to live, but never living.
    Doesn’t that just fit? Have a great weekend!

  4. Michelle

    I think this is a huge struggle for moms – even when the motive is pure. Ie., she is starting to crawl – when will she walk? I need to get winter clothes so we are ready when it comes .. etc.
    Not that any of these are bad BUT it is sooo easy to plan plan plan and totally neglect NOW.
    Scripture says to live each day as if the Lord were coming today … how differently would we all spend our time if we REALLY believed this?!

Leave a Reply

