Thanks Marikka.

My friend Marikka sent this poem to me in the mail today and I was once again reminded the days I have now are fleeting and I must always remember to stop and enjoy them.  
For one day….I will wish them back…..

Mother, O Mother, come shake out your cloth,

Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
Hang out the washing, make up the bed,
Sew on a button and butter the bread.
Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking.

Oh, I’ve grown as shiftless as Little Boy Blue,
Lullabye, rockabye, lullabye loo.
Dishes are waiting and bills are past due,
Lullabye, rockaby, lullabye loo.
The shopping’s not done and there’s nothing for stew
And out in the yard there’s a hullabaloo,
But I’m playing Kanga and this is my Roo,
Lullabye, rockaby lullabye loo.

The cleaning and scrubbing can wait till tomorrow
But children grow up as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down cobwebs;
Dust go to sleep!

I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.

3 Comments

Filed under smiles come with the mail!

3 responses to “Thanks Marikka.

  1. Kent Strawsburg

    How true it is…..all of the “projects” can wait for another day. I want to go home, sit in my recliner, close my eyes and think of days not too long ago when Rachel and Jonathan tried to talk over each other when Rachel was writing on her chalkboard and acting like a “teacher”. So long ago, but tonight as I reflect it will seem like yesterday. “Teach” on my sweet girl….you will always be that age in my mind’s eye.
    Love
    Dad

  2. shanna

    Okay, I’m crying. First, the poem…how often am I rocking Luke and staring at a mess that I’m just itching to clean up? A great reminder that those moments are so much more important. And then your daddy’s comment….ah, my heart!

  3. Just found your nice blog! Will be checking back often form now on!

Leave a Reply

