I think I’m worried about the wrong thing…..

The sermon this morning was on anxiety and how it seeps into our lives and truly takes a foot hold of our thought-life.  I was reminded about how many things I mull over and worry about….rather than hand them over for the Lord to deal with.  

The verse was read about how foolish it is to worry about tomorrow, since today has problems of it's own.  Instead of "hearing" the verse and moving on to the next point quickly, I let it sit with me the entire morning.  I kept thinking about how FREEING it must be to not worry and how nice it would feel to not have anxiety over the future.  I thought about how great it must be to be a "relaxed" person and not be a worry-wart…..that's the life!
And while I was driving home from church, it came to me. I have the CHOICE and OPPORTUNITY to hand over my worries to God and be free of them.  It was like I was unshackled from a prison of concern and burden when I realized how simple it was.  I do not HAVE to worry about tomorrow and how my bills will get paid, If I will stay friends with people, where my kid will go to school, if I will be a diligent parent, if someone likes me, what Im going to do in the future, am I being the best wife I can be, will someone in my family die, am I pleasing God, am I good enough….and on and on and on and on.

The plague if worry is gone (for today) and a simple childhood song to sing to the Lord was brought to my mind for when the anxiety creeps back…

I cast all my cares upon You.
I lay all of my burdens, down at Your feet.
And anytime, I don't know, what to do,
I just cast all my cares upon You.
1 Comment

Filed under Religion

One response to “I think I’m worried about the wrong thing…..

  1. Michelle

    Amen and Amen, sister!

Leave a Reply

