i need a library card.

I adore children’s literature.  I took a course during my program at CSULB that’s sole purpose was to educate us about kid’s books.  It was, by far, my favorite class I ever took.  There are so many books out there with beautiful illustrations, meanings and lessons.

Soooo….we have decided to read Kensington a book a night (not out of the norm for most of use parents) and document each evening’s read and sometimes write a little something about it.  You can find said documentation on the left hand side of the blog–Nighttime Tales. If you click on the photo album and then on the newest picture, it will tell you the date and then the book we read that night.
  We thought it would be a really neat tradition and fun to watch all the changes that happen over the years as we go through all the many books…

Join us in reading—who doesn’t like a good book?!? 
7 Comments

Filed under books

7 responses to “i need a library card.

  1. ooh what a great idea! Children are never too young for books in my opinion. It helps to development their fine motor skills (grasping books, turning pages, etc) and of course promotes intellectual & language development. (can you tell I teach child development?) 🙂
    I too adore children’s literature. I have my own collection of favs and do not have children of my own. 🙂
    Looking forward to what you choose 🙂

  2. shanna

    I’ve been reading to Kate before bed since she was about 4 months old and it is still her favorite thing to do. Luke, however, is more interested in ripping the pages out and using the book as a weapon. Oh these boys!

  3. Barney the Beagle is a must if you want your child to grow up right… thats my .02

  4. That is such a great idea… reading is the best thing to do with your kids!!! Ive been doing the same with Andrew since he was tiny, and he LOVES books.. the library is his favorite place!!! 🙂 Good for you, momma! And PS. You won one of the giveaways on my page- check it out and send me your address!!! xo!

  5. Good for you! Even babies benefit from being read to. A favorite of ours was The three little wolves and the big bad pig–a twist on the old fairytale. Have fun!!
    Love,
    Kelly

  6. Mary

    You are such an awesome mom, and I want to be just like you when I grow up. 🙂 Can’t wait for the book summaries!

  7. Michelle

    we are avid readers in the Eastman home … the boys and I read about 2 hours a day and they listen to countless audio books – the best thing invented recently!
    There is nothing like reading to spark imagination and thought and intelligence.
    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

