home is where my heart is.

I have had so many heartwarming moments within the walls of my home in the past week.  I won’t list them all.  Some too personal, some to lengthy, and some you might not even appreciate as much as I did.  But they were special to me.  Reinforcements as to the importance of family. The value of raising my child each day.  Good days, indeed.  

I walk in the bathroom and Sean and I were both amazed that Miss K wrote me a message….so smart…..

img_6495

“He is happiest, be he king or peasant, who finds peace in his home.”

– Goethe

“Many people have a wrong idea of what constitutes true happiness. 
It is not attained through self-gratification, but through fidelity to a worthy purpose.”
               – Helen Keller

“The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family.”
               – Thomas Jefferson

“Of all the rights of women, the greatest is to be a mother.”

– Lin Yu-Tang

                   “Life becomes harder for us when we live for others, but it also becomes richer and happier.”

               –  Albert Schweitzer
                    

Proverbs 22:6 

“Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”

 

Proverbs 20:11  (this is for all you LAGBS kids!)

“Even a child is known by his actions.  By whether his conduct is pure and right.”

 

And a side note….a home was found for my PROVERBS 31 cross-stitch.  I didn’t have the $$ to go out and get a new frame and matte (like I wanted to), so I went to the garage, found a vintage, irregular shaped frame and cut down the actual print.  It fit great and now hangs in my kitchen.  A daily reminder.

img_6487

img_6489

 

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under being a mother, childhood is calling, foam shapes and letters in the bathub, Helen Keller, hi mom, home with where the heart is, kitchen, los altos grace brethren school, motherhood, Proverbs, proverbs 31 woman, this and that...., Uncategorized

9 responses to “home is where my heart is.

  1. that is the cutest pic ever! lol.

  2. Kat

    When I was home with Serena, I don’t think I got how lucky I was. I always complained that Brians hours kept him away too long (never did I see that his hours paid our bills and let me raise my baby). I complianed that I never had time to talk to adults, or for myself (little did I realize how quickly she’d be off to school, and I’d be waiting to talk to her).

    Then I had to go to work, and I realized I missed trips to the library, and the park, and the zoo. I missed laying in bed next to her watching a movie in our jammies at noon. I got a whole lot of perscpective shoveled down my throat as I left at 6am for work, only to get home at 6pm, all I ever got to do was dress, feed and bathe Serena monday-friday for about 2 years. It was a really hard time.

    But as it says in Romans 8:28 “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him,who have been called according to his purpose.”

    God used that time to teach me that the previous years had been a gift. He also blessed me with a time to be home with my Chloe. And wouldn’t you know it? I learned my lesson. I love it.

    Sometimes I miss my job, then I look at Chloe, and think, nah. This is WAY better.

    Good thing you are not nearly as dense as I.

  3. the cross-stitch looks great! A wonderful addition to the kitchen (and your home).

  4. Love the green on your walls! The cross-stitch looks great there and I think the frame goes with it perfectly.

  5. baby bums are just the cutest! 🙂

  6. Thanks for the thoughtful reminder to cherish our children. I’m so glad I found your blog!

  7. I love those quotes! Provs. 22:6 is one of my faves! And the booty shot, priceless! She is too smart.

  8. Love the bathtub photo and all the quotes– all true! Miss K is a smart one!!

Leave a comment